Andrew County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Andrew County

Guide to Andrew County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Andrew County, Missouri
Map
Map of Missouri highlighting Andrew County
Location in the state of Missouri
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 29, 1841
County Seat Savanna
Courthouse
MissouriAndrewCourthouse.jpg
Address Andrew County Courthouse
P.O. Box 206 411 Court Street
Savannah, MO 64485-0206
Phone: 816-324-3624
Andrew County Website


County Information

Andrew County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1841 1883 1830 1841 1841

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1893; Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce and court records from 1841, land and military records; Probate Judge has probate records from 1841. [2]

History

Andrew County, Missouri is located in Northwest Missouri and one of the six Platte Purchasecounties acquired by the United States from the Native Americans in 1836. The area now located in Andrew County was first part of Buchanan County, Missouri. Since it was organized in 1841, it is important to determine when ancestors first arrived in Andrew County. If they were there prior to 1841 it will be necessary to look for their records in Buchanan County. The majority of the original records filed after 1841 are available at the courthouse which is located in Savannah, Missouri.

Parent County

1841 Andrew County was created 29 January 1841 from the Platte Purchase. County seat: Savannah [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Buchanan  • Dekalb  • Doniphan County, Kansas  • Gentry  • Holt  • Nodaway

Andrew CountyNodaway CountyAtchison CountyHolt CountyWorth CountyBuchanan CountyPlatte CountyBrown CountyGentry CountyAtchison CountyDeKalb CountyNemaha CountyClintonCountyJackson CountyRichardson CountyDoniphan CountyMOAndrew1.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MNGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Missouri Genealogy Cemeteries Missouri Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Andrew County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Andrew County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Hodges, Nadine. Andrew County, Missouri, marriage records, 1841-1856 and early settlers. 1967.
  • History of Andrew and De Kalb counties, Missouri : from the earliest time to the present; together with sundry personal, business and professional sketches and family records, besides a condensed history of the state of Missouri, etc. Reprint. Originally published: St. Louis : Goodspeed Publishing Co., 1888.Salt Lake City : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2012.
  • Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather. Index to biographies for Andrew County, Missouri : from History of Andrew and De Kalb counties, Missouri, 1888. Salt Lake City : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2013.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Rootsweb

  • 1803 - what would become the state was a part of the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1820 - Missouri became a state.
  • 1821 - Lewis and Clark began their explorations of the area.
  • 1837 February - local tribes signed a treaty giving up their rights to land east of the Missouri River in what is now northwestern Missouri. This was called the Platte Purchase.
  • 1841 January 29 - Andrew County was formally organized from part of this "Platte Purchase".
  • 1844 - the Mormons were moving to Utah.
  • 1849 - The California gold rush saw even faster westward expansion.

Maps

Moandrew.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Andrew County, Missouri for European settlers included:

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments
Service men in Andrew County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Andrew County, Missouri:

- 35th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company A
- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company B
- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company C
- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company I
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri National Guard Infantry (Union), Company A
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri National Guard Infantry (Union), Company B
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri National Guard Infantry (Union), Company C
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri National Guard Infantry (Union), Company D
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri National Guard Infantry (Union), Company E
- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 41st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 41st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Andrew County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births


Marriages
Deaths

Societies and Libraries

  • Andrew County Historical Society
    P. O. Box 12
    Savannah, MO 64485
  • Midwest Genealogy Center
    3440 S. Lee's Summit Road
    Independence, MO 64055
    Phone: 816-252-7228
    Website
  • St. Joseph Public Library
    927 Felix Street
    St. Joseph, MO 64501

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Andrew County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Andrew County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Andrew Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Andrew County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Andrew County, Missouri Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "missouri" in the search box to see a list and links to Missouri Blogs
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Andrew County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Andrew County, Missouri. Page 397 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.