Anchorage Municipality, Alaska Genealogy
Guide to Anchorage Borough, Alaska ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Anchorage Borough, Alaska|
Location in the state of Alaska
Location of Alaska in the U.S.
|Founded||January 1, 1964|
|Address||Muncipality of Anchorage, Alaska |
632 West 6th Avenue
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
- 1 Description
- 2 Historical Facts
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Bible Records
- 4.2 Biography
- 4.3 Business Records and Commerce
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Census Records
- 4.6 Church Records
- 4.7 Court Records
- 4.8 Directories
- 4.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 4.10 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 4.11 Gazetteers
- 4.12 Genealogy
- 4.13 History
- 4.14 Land and Property
- 4.15 Maps
- 4.16 Military
- 4.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 4.18 Newspapers
- 4.19 Obituaries
- 4.20 Periodicals
- 4.21 Probate
- 4.22 Public Records
- 4.23 Repositories
- 4.24 Taxation
- 4.25 Vital Records
- 5 Websites
- 6 References
Description[edit | edit source]
The Anchorage Borough was named for the anchorage at the mouth of Ship Creek. The Anchorage Borough Government Body is Anchorage Assembly and the Anchorage Borough was created January 1, 1964. The Anchorage Borough is located in the southern part of the state.
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
The Municipality of Anchorage is a consolidated city-borough with unified home rule. It is the northernmost city in the United States with more than 100,000 residents and the largest community in North America north of the 60th parallel.
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
15 September 1975: Merged with the City of Anchorage along with cities of Girdwood and Glen Alps to form Muncipality of Anchorage as the result of an election.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Boroughs and Census Areas[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this municipality:
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden name; and death date.
For general information about Alaska denominations, see the Alaska Church Records wiki page.
The Family History Library also has copies of many Alaskan church records. To find a list in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for Alaska, the borough, or the town.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Alaska Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both free and pay-to-access websites. Includes Anchorage directories.
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Local History[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Anchorage Municipality, Alaska Genealogy. Borough histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alaska Local Histories.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
The first general land office was established at Sitka, Alaska in 1885. Records of subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, are filed at the office of the district recorder in each judicial district. The Family History Library has not acquired copies of Alaskan land records.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1934 - Alaska, State Archives (Juneau), Military Service Discharge Records, 1898-1934 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1940-1945 - Alaska, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1884-1991 - Alaska Naturalization Records, 1884-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1900-1972 - Alaska, State Archives (Juneau), Naturalization Records, 1900-1972 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Anchorage Municipality, Alaska Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Alaska newspaper information, see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Alaska Newspapers.
- Alaska Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites. Includes Anchorage newspapers.
- Anchorage Dispatch News - full-text issues in Google News Archive; covers 1891-1989
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Alaska were kept by the district courts prior to statehood. The superior court now has jurisdiction over probate matters. They are available at the archives and offices mentioned in Alaska Court Records. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Alaska.
An index with about 17,000 probate cases from the district court system from 1884 to 1960 is available online. It is arranged alphabetically. See Alaska Probate Records Index.
Public Records[edit | edit source]
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Libraries
- Anchorage Alaska Family History Center
- Anchorage, Alaska
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Alaska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. The Family History Library has not filmed Alaska tax records.
Real and personal property tax records are kept at the borough's Assessors office.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Vital Statistics. This office has birth, death and marriage records since 1890's, though, many before 1930 were not registered with the Bureau. It also has divorce records since 1950. For more information, including how to find earlier records, check Alaska Vital Records.
- 1816-1959 Alaska, Vital Records, 1816-1959 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Anchorage Borough Trails to the Past
- USGenWeb Archives
- Anchorage Borough, Alaska GenWeb Project.
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Anchorage Municipality," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anchorage,_Alaska 05/12/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Anchorage Municipality, Alaska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anchorage,_Alaska, accessed 12 February 2019.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Aleutians East Borough p. 48.