Ancasti, Catamarca, Argentina Genealogy
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Guide to Department of Ancasti ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
History[edit | edit source]
- The colonization of these territories began in the seventeenth century. At the end of this century, there were around 14 residences in the area that were owned by Spaniards, which were attended by Indians in the area.
- The territory of the current department of Ancasti originally belonged to Santiago del Estero and was known as "Sierra de Santiago".
- When San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca was founded, this territory became the jurisdiction of the new city.
- In 1748 the Curato de Ancasti was created, whose seat was the chapel of Ancasti.
- In 1875 the Catamarca legislature created, on behalf of these territories, the department of La Paz, and in 1878, the department of El Alto.
- The department of Ancasti has a population of approximately 3,000 people. 
Parish Records[edit | edit source]
- Registros parroquiales, 1748-1967 - Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 2º Censo Nacional, 1895 : Ancasti (Departamento), Catamarca - Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Municipalities[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Departamento Ancasti," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Departamento_Ancasti. Visited October 23, 2017.