Ampthill, Bedfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Bedfordshire
Bedfordshire Parishes
Ampthill

Guide to Ampthill, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ampthill, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Redbornestoke
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Ampthill
Registration District Ampthill
Records begin
Parish registers: 1604
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fleete
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Parish History

AMPTHILL (St. Andrew), a market-town and parish, 7 miles (S. by W.) from Bedford, and 45 (N. W. by N.) from London. There are three places of worship for Independents, Wesleyan Methodists, and the Society of Friends.[1]

Resources

Original parish registers exist at the Bedfordshire County Record Office from 1538 - 1992.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records

Ampthill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = FindMyPast - ($)
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FREG = FreeREG - free
GIBBS = StevenGibbs.me.uk - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Ampthill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


FREG 1541-1812
1541-1812
1541-1812
GIBBS 1837-1901
1837-1901
1837-1901
NBI



1602-1852
BOYD

1626-1784


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District

  • Woburn

Poor Law Unions

  • Woburn

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ampthill on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 53-58. Date accessed: 05 June 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk