To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Amherst Parish, Amherst County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Amherst Parish, Amherst County ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Amherst Parish has served Amherst and Nelson counties. St. Mark's Episcopal Church in Clifford (formed 1747) belonged to this parish until 1778 when Lexington Parish was established.[1]

Founded[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

A survey of the graves at St. Mark's Church was published in 1985: FHL Book 975.5496 V3b (pages 53-55).[3]

More than 50 tombstones from Saint Mark's Church Cemetery are also described at Find A Grave.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Meade's 1861 history of Amherst Parishes is available online.[4]

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial parish registers have been lost.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. "St. Mark, Clifford | History of St Mark, Clifford," The Episcopal Church.
  2. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  3. Mary Frances Boxley, Gravestone Inscriptions in Amherst County, Virginia (Amherst, Va., 1985).
  4. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.