To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Amherst, Erie County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Amherst, Erie County, New York ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Additional Resources:

Erie County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of Amherst, NY

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

Amherst Main Library at Audubon
350 John James Audubon Parkway
Amherst, NY 14228
Phone: 716-689-4922
Fax: 716-689-6116

Nederlander Research Library and Archives
c/o Amherst Museum
3755 Tonawanda Creek Road
Amherst, NY 14228
E-mail: library@amherstmuseum.org

Genealogical Resources: Genealogy Collection, edgers, scrapbooks, maps photographs. Catalog Search

Amherst Museum
3755 Tonawanda Creek Road
Amherst, NY 14228
Phone: 716-689-1440
Contact Form

Societies[edit | edit source]

Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
25 Nottingham Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
716-873-9644
Facebook page
Genealogical Resources: Library, Guide to Genealogical Materials, city directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery transcriptions, censuses, genealogy books, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), private papers, obituary request form, published family histories, list of professional researchers for hire.
Erie County Historical Federation
11 Danforth Street
Chektowaga, NY 14227
Facebook page[1]
Genealogical Resources: "Loosely organized group of local historical societies and appointed town historians of Erie County, acting as a liaison between groups and providing a speakers bureau."[1]
Western New York Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 338
Hamburg, N.Y. 14075-0338
Genealogical Resources: Surname list, locality list, 1865 Census index, journal, research library.

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

Town of Amherst, Clerk
Amherst Municipal Building
5583 Main Street
Williamsville, NY 14221
Phone: 716-631-7045
Email: sjaros@amherst.ny.us

Town Historian[edit | edit source]

Joseph Weichert[2]
3069 Tonawanda Creek Road
North Tonawanda, NY 14228

Town Records[edit | edit source]

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Amherst, Erie County, New York Genealogy check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 Erie County, New York Town Historians, Historical Societies and Historical Museums, Updated: 20 October 2004, http://wnyroots.tripod.com/index-historians.html (accessed 15 December 2011).
  2. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 402. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.

Places[edit | edit source]