Amersham with Coleshill, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Buckinghamshire
Buckinghamshire Parishes
Amersham with Coleshill


Guide to Amersham with Coleshill, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Amersham with Coleshill, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Burnham; Dacorum
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Amersham
Registration District Amersham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History

AMERSHAM, or Agmondesham (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Burnham, county of Buckingham, 33 miles (S. E. by S.) from Buckingham, and 25¾ (W. N. W.) from London. The hamlet of Coleshill is included in it. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Amersham with Coleshill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FREG = FreeREG - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Amersham with Coleshill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1561-1912
1561-1898
1561-1904
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG

1559-1837


IGI 1778-1788, 1801-1810,1813-1851,
1851-1893

1561-1812, 1755-1837,


FS Catalog PRs
1561-1912
1561-1912
1561-1912
FS Catalog BTs
1600-1829
1600-1829
1600-1829

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • General Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Amersham on GENUKI


References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 53-58.] (1848) Date accessed and adapted 21 May 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk