American Samoa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
American Samoa Wiki Topics
Flag of American Samoa.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
American Samoa Background
Local Research Resources
Oceania
American Samoa

Guide to American Samoa ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Country Information

American Samoa is an unincorporated territory of the United States in the Pacific Ocean whose nearest neighbors are the Cook Islands, Tonga, and Samoa. The official languages are Samoan and English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with American Samoa Research

Links to articles on getting started with American Samoa research.

American Samoa Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in American Samoa research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

American Samoa Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in American Samoa. American Samoa Districts.png

Districts

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in American Samoa. American Samoa is divided into three districts: Eastern, Western, and Manu'a. It also has two unorganized atolls, Swains Island and Rose Atoll (which is uninhabited). These districts and atolls are divided into 74 villages.

Naming Conventions

Samoan names are often part of the Matai title system. Here are several resources:

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "American Samoa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Samoa, accessed 6 May 2016.