To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Amelia County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Amelia County, Virginia)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Amelia County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Amelia County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Amelia County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Amelia County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 1, 1734
County Seat Amelia
Courthouse
VirginiaAmeliaCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Amelia County is located in the Central region of the Commonwealth of Virginia just west of the state capital, Richmond. It was named in honor of Princess Amelia, daughter of King George II[1].

Amelia County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Amelia County Courthouse, Amelia, Va.

Amelia County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Amelia, VA 23002
Phone: 804-561-2128

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, land probate, military and court records from 1734[2]

The first county courthouse was located near Pridesville and was in operation until it was destroyed by fire in 1766. A later courthouse was built at Dennisville. The present location was chosen in 1849. This is on a two-acre square in the center of what is known as the village of Amelia Court House, Virginia, also known simply as the Village. The currently used courthouse building was built in 1924.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1734 1853 1734 1734 1734 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Amelia County Virginia History[edit | edit source]

Princess Amelia of Great Britain (1711-1786) on the right

The county was named after Amelia Sophia Eleanora, Princess Amelia of Great Britain (1711-1786), daughter of King George II of Great Britain and Ireland (1683-1760).[4]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1734--Amelia County was created 1 February 1734 from Brunswick and Prince George Counties.
County seat: Amelia [2]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Prince Edward County was formed from Amelia County in 1754. Nottoway County was formed from Amelia County in 1789.

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, visit "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps"

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Amelia County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

In 1790, Amelia County had the largest slave population in the state (11,307 slaves).[5]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

  • Amelia County Bible records (USGenWeb Archives)
  • Amelia County Photographs (USGenWeb Archives)
  • Gray Family Bible [Records, ca. 1745-1956], Bible records / Governor Leonard Calvert Chapter, no. 29, California State Society of the Daughters of the American Colonists. Available on microfilm at FHL.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Virginia Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Amelia County, Virginia Cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Amelia County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.


Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 18,097
1800 9,432 −47.9%
1810 10,594 12.3%
1820 11,104 4.8%
1830 11,036 −0.6%
1840 10,320 −6.5%
1850 9,770 −5.3%
1860 10,741 9.9%
1870 9,878 −8.0%
1880 10,377 5.1%
1890 9,068 −12.6%
1900 9,037 −0.3%
1910 8,720 −3.5%
1920 9,800 12.4%
1930 8,799 −10.2%
1940 8,495 −3.5%
1950 7,908 −6.9%
1960 7,815 −1.2%
1970 7,592 −2.9%
1980 8,405 10.7%
1990 8,787 4.5%
2000 11,400 29.7%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
1782 Enumeration[edit | edit source]
1785 Enumeration[edit | edit source]
1810 Census[edit | edit source]
1850 Census[edit | edit source]
1860 Census[edit | edit source]
1890 Veterans[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist[edit | edit source]

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Nottawa (by 1769).[6] Edwards published a membership list dated 1769 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 68-69.
  2. Sandy Creek[7]

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.


Amelia County fell within the bounds of the Appomattox Association.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Gotoarrow.png See also Nottoway Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Raleigh Parish

Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Amelia County is available online.[8]

Quaker[edit | edit source]
  • Amelia Monthly Meeting (1721-1793) aka Pattison's Meeting aka Appomattox[9]

In the 1700s and 1800s, Friends from Amelia County, Virginia Genealogy also attended the Cedar Creek Meeting House in Hanover County, Virginia.[10]


Court
[edit | edit source]

Genealogy [edit | edit source]

More than 200 genealogies have been published about Amelia County families. To view a list, visit Amelia County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.

Historic Residences[edit | edit source]

The histories of the following old houses, including identification of some owners, are available at the website of the Amelia Historical Society:

  • The Glebe
  • Haw Branch
  • Hardaway House
  • Edgewood
  • Dykeland
  • Hotel Amelia

Other Amelia County house histories include:

Immigration[edit | edit source]

  • North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. 2007. By Peter Wilson Coldham. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL 942 P27c 2007 (British Book); At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes will of a resident of Raleigh, Amelia County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Deeds[edit | edit source]
Grants and Patents[edit | edit source]

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Prince Edward CountyCumberland CountyPowhatan CountyChesterfield CountyNottoway CountyDinwiddie CountyVA AMELIA.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 1966. By Katherine B. Elliott. South Hill, Virginia : K.B. Elliott. Online at: New Books in Politics, Journalist Esdebout, eBook for Scaricare; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes individuals who migrated out of Amelia County to other parts of the country.
  • Handle with Care: From Our County Loose Papers, Amelia County, Virginia, List of Insolvents (1749-50). Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 35, No. 4 (Fall 1997):309-313. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vs.
  • Removals from Amelia County Insolvents Lists, 1750. 1983. By Robert Y. Clay. The Southside Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Apr. 1983):126. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 D25s.
  • Removals from Insolvent Lists of Amelia County (1763-1812). The Southside Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Jan. 1983):76-77. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 D25s.
  • Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. 1975. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):190-194. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg; CD available New England Ancestors ($). [These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Amelia County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on 19:193-194.]

Military[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Amelia County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Amelia County supplied soldiers for the:

- 11th Virginia Regiment

Additional resources:

War of 1812[edit | edit source]

Amelia County men served in the 1st Virginia Regiment.[11]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books.
  • Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. By James L. Douthat. 2007. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Amelia County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Amelia County, Virginia Genealogy:


- 1st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Paineville Rifles).[12]
- 23rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Jetersville Grays) and Company C (Amelia Rifles).[13]
- 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Amelia Minute Men) and Company I (Mossingford Rifles).[14]

Records and histories are available, including:

Civil War Battle[edit | edit source]

The following Civil War battle was fought in Amelia County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Virginia [Petitions, 1906-1929]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Amelia County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.


Amelia County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)

  • Virginia Gazette: Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Petitions[edit | edit source]

  • Petition of Amelia County Baptists, 27 October 1768. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1962):74. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: American Ancestors ($).
  • Virginia State Library: A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford. 1908. By H.J. Eckenrode. Richmond, Virginia: Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing. Online at: Google Books.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

A free index to Amelia County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1734-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.


Local Court

SamPubCo has created a free online resource that serves as a good starting place to search for Amelia County wills:

Other Amelia County probate resources include:

  • Amelia County, Virginia, Will Book 1 with Inventories and Accounts, 1734-1761. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):83-90; Vol. 15, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1971):183-190; Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1971):265-272; Vol. 16, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1972):50-62; Vol. 16, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1972):109-118; Vol. 16, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1972):292-300; Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1973):53-62; Vol. 17, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1973):139-148; Vol. 17, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1973):175-180; Vol. 17, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1973):304-309; Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1974):17-22; Vol. 18, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1974):105-119. FHL Collection 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: New England Ancestors ($).
  • Amelia County, Virginia Will Book 3: 1780 to 1786. By Ben Wise. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($). Includes wills, appraisals, and inventories and also includes additional deaths and heirs from Order Books 15 and 17.
  • Amelia County, Virginia Will Book 4: 1786 to 1792. By Ben Wise. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($). Includes wills, appraisals, and inventories and also includes additional deaths and heirs from Order Books 18 and 19.
  • Amelia County, Virginia Will Book 5: 1792 to 1799. By Ben Wise. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($). Includes wills, appraisals, and inventories and also includes additional deaths and heirs from Order Books 20, 21, 22.
  • Amelia County Wills - USGenWeb Archives

London Courts

  • North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. By Peter Wilson Coldham. 2007. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. At various libraries (WorldCat).

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

How can Virginia tax lists help me? 

  • The original Amelia County, Virginia Lists of Tithables, 1736-1782 [missing years 1772-1777], and Miscellaneous Documents, ca. 1740-1795 are kept at the Amelia County Courthouse, Amelia, Va. Microfilm copies: FHL 1902616 - FHL 1902617
  • Amelia County Census and Tax Records (USGenWeb Archives)

The following Amelia tax lists have been abstracted:

  • 1736 - A List of all the Titheables Below Deep Creek in 1736. By Steve Light. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1736 - Amelia County, Virginia Tithables, 1736. By Joanne Lovelace Nance. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 36, No. 1 (Winter 1998):74-84. Online at: Genealogy Trails.
  • 1736 - 1736 Tax Lists and Tithables. Online at: Genealogy Trails.
  • 1736-1764 - Amelia County, Virginia Tax Lists 1736-1764: An Every-Name Index. 1993. T.L.C. Genealogy. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
  • 1736-1782 -Amelia County Tithe Lists 1736-1782 (images). CD available at: Tax List Club Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1736-1813 - Amelia County Miscellaneous Lists 1736-1813 (images). CD available at: Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1737 - Southside Virginia Genealogies. 2007. By John W. Pritchett. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett, CD available at: FHL CD-ROM no. 3887.
  • 1737 - Amelia County, Virginia Tithables, 1737. By Robert Young Clay. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 34, No. 4 (Fall 1996):345-354. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1737 - Amelia County Tithable List for 1737. By J.C. Kolbe. The Southside Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Oct. 1982):15-22. Online at: Internet Archive, FHL 975.5 D25s.
  • 1737 - Amelia County Tithable List for 1737. Online at: Genealogy Trails.
  • 1738 - Amelia County, Virginia Tithables, 1738. By Robert Young Clay. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 35, No. 1 (Winter 1997):66-74. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1738 - Amelia County Tithable List for 1738. Online at: Genealogy Trails.
  • 1739 - Amelia County, Virginia Tithables, 1739. By Joanne Lovelace Nance. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 35, No. 2 (Spring 1997):125-133. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1740 - Amelia County Tithables 1740. By J.C. Kolbe. The Southside Virginian, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan. 1990):17-22; Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr. 1990):71-74; Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1990):103-104. Online at: Internet Archive, FHL 975.5 D25s.
  • 1741 - Amelia County, Virginia Tithables, 1741. By Joanne Lovelace Nance. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 36, No. 3 (Summer 1998):203-211. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1742 - Amelia County Tithables, 1742. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 38, No. 2 (May 2000):98-104. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1743 - Amelia County Tithables, 1743. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 38, No. 3 (Aug. 2000); Vol. 38, No. 4 (Nov. 2000):241-252. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1744 - Amelia County Tithables, 1744. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 39, No. 4 (Nov. 2001):292-306. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1745 - Amelia County Tithables, 1745. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 40, No. 3 (Aug. 2002):235-238. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1746 - Amelia County Tithables, 1746. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 41, No. 1 (Feb. 2003):69-85. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1747 - Amelia County Tithables, 1747. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. [Omitted Pages] Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 1 (Feb. 2005):15-17. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1747 - Amelia County Tithables, 1747. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 42, No. 4 (Nov. 2004):319-332. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1748 - Amelia County Tithables, 1748. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 1 (Feb. 2005):18-36. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1748 - Amelia County Tobacco Lists, 1748. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 1 (Feb. 2005):37-40. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1749 - Amelia County, 1749 Tobacco List. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 2 (May 2005):125-127. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1749 - Amelia County Tithables, 1749. By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 2 (May 2005):103-124. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1749-1750 - Handle with Care: From Our County Loose Papers, Amelia County, Virginia, List of Insolvants [1749-50]. By Joanne Lovelace Nance. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 35, No. 4 (Fall 1997):309-313. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1750 - Amelia County Tithables, 17450 By Dennis Ray Hudgins. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 4 (Nov. 2005):291-308. FHL 975.5 B2vs.
  • 1750 - Removals from Amelia County Insolvent Lists, 1750. By Robert Y. Clay. The Southside Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Apr. 1983):126. Online at: Internet Archive, FHL 975.5 D25s.
  • 1763-1812 - Removals from Amelia County Insolvent Lists [1763-1812]. By J.C. Kolbe. The Southside Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Jan. 1983):76-77. Online at: Internet Archive, FHL 975.5 D25s.
  • 1765 - 1765 Personal Property Tax Lists. By Reiley Kidd. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1766 - 1766 Personal Property Tax Lists. By Reiley Kidd. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1768 - Poll of Amelia County, Va, 1768. 1983. By S.O. Southall. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Tyler's Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 33 (1951):54-69. FHL 975.5 R4v, reprinted in Virginia Tax Records {{FHL: FHL 973 B2t 1967.
  • 1769 - 1769 Personal Property Tax Lists. By Reiley Kidd. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1770 - 1770 Personal Property Tax Lists. By Reiley Kidd. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1771 - 1771 Personal Property Tax Lists. By Reiley Kidd. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1778 - 1778 Personal Property Tax Lists. By Reiley Kidd. Online at: VAGenWeb Project.
  • 1778-1782 - Amelia County - 1778-1782 Tithable Lists; 1736-1813 Misc Accounts, Lists, Tithables. Online at: Amelia County - the Colonial Lists, CD available at: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1782 - 1782 tax lists. Online at: USGenWeb Archives.
  • 1782-1786 - 1790 Amelia County, Virginia Census. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Online at: Mountain Press ($). Free online surname index
  • 1783 - Virginia 1783 Personal Property Tax and 1783 Land Tax List. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1787 - The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • 1787 - Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):190-194. FHL 975.5 B2vg; CD digital version at New England Ancestors ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Albemarle County's 1787 Delinquent Lists appear on 19:190-192.
  • 1790, 1800 - 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Amelia County, Virginia Index. Online at: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1791, 1800 - 1791 and 1800 Tax Lists of Amelia County, Virginia Index. Online at: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 - Amelia County, Virginia 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 5, No. 1 (Jan. 1961):18-27. Online at: American Ancestors ($), FHL 975.5 B2vg.
  • 1815 - 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Indexes to Amelia County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
  • 1853-1870 - Amelia County Birth Index 1853-1870. Batch C868474 at FamilySearch.[18]
  • 1853-1896 - Amelia County, Virginia Births, 1853-96. 2000. By Beth Fridley. Provo, UT, USA : The Generations Network. Online index at: Ancestry ($).
  • 1912-1913 - Births for 1912-1913. Online at: Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.




Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.


Amelia County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Amelia County Virginia Genealogy Websites
[edit | edit source]

Amelia County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amelia_County,_Virginia
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Amelia County, Virginia. Page 710 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Amelia County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
  4. Wikipedia Contributors, "Amelia County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amelia_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  5. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  6. Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772). Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  7. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 272. Digital version at Google Books.
  8. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  9. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  10. Mary Marshall Brewer, Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 (Lewes, De.: Colonial Roots, 2002), Introduction. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b.
  11. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 46. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  12. Edward R. Crews and Timothy A. Parish, 14th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 117.
  13. Thomas M. Rankin, 23rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 14.
  14. Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
  15. Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  16. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  17. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  18. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.