Amcotts, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Amcotts, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Downloaded2021687223160087978 Amcotts St+Mark Lincolnshire.JPG
|Poor Law Union||Thorne|
|Parish registers: 1836|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
AMCOTTS, a chapelry, in the parish of Althorp, union of Thorne, W. division of the wapentake of Manley, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 11¾ miles (E. S. E.) from Glandford-Brigg. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. Amcotts St Mark was formed as an Ecclsiastical parish in 1850 from a chapelry in Althorpe with Keadby, Lincolnshire Ancient Parish.
Amcotts is a village and civil parish on the Isle of Axholme in North Lincolnshire which is on the River Trent and faces Flixborough, Lincolnshire. The chapel is dedicated to St. Thomas à Becket. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
This parish was part of the Thorne registration district from 1837-1947 when it became part of the Don Valley registration district. registration district
Registers are now held at North Lincolnshire
The Register Office
92 Oswald Road
01724 843915. firstname.lastname@example.org
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Amcotts parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Amcotts Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Amcotts Par 1 will identify available images.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Amcotts
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 53-58. Date accessed: 31 July 2013.