Amberley, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Amberley, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Amberley, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Longtree
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Stroud
Registration District Stroud
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stonehouse
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HAMPTON, MINCHIN (Holy Trinity), a market town and parish, in the union of Stroud, hundred of Longtree, E. division of the county of Gloucester,14 miles (S.) from Gloucester, and 100 (W.) from London. Minchin-Hampton has been divided, ecclesiastically,into three parishes; namely, Minchin-Hampton, including the town, with the hamlets of Box, Forwood, and Holcombe, and Amberley, including the hamlets of Littleworth, Theescombe, and St. Cloe, and Brimscombe, including the hamlets of Chalford, Hyde, Burley, Brimscombe, and Cowcombe. Here are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

Amberley, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Amberley, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1838-1913 1838-1913 1841-1938 1841-1938 1838-1871 1838-1871


Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 391-396. Date accessed: 31 December 2012.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.