Alverstoke, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Alverstoke, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ALVERSTOKE (St. Mary), a parish, comprising the sea-port town of Gosport, the watering-place called Anglesey, and the chapelry of Forton, in the liberty of Alverstoke and Gosport, Fareham and S. divisions of the county of Southampton. There are several churches and chapels in the parish; one at Gosport, consecrated in 1696, and dedicated to the Holy Trinity; a small chapel closely adjoining the liberty of Gosport; another at Elson, on the northern side of the parish; one, lately erected, very near to the parish church, among the new buildings at Anglesey; and one at Forton. The church at Elson is dedicated to St. Thomas. The dissenters, also, have several places of worship.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Alverstoke, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|ALVERSTOKE PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
The Life of a Sailor. A Tale of Another Elusive Clark(e) by Loton, James. An article on researching James Clark who married at Alverstoke in May 1852 to Jane Cripps (Crips/Crisp). His life at sea and family history, also a family tree, dating back to 1822-1966. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XV, no.1, May 1988, pages 7-10, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Haddon, Gordon. The Two Bligh Admirals. A rough outline of the Bligh Family Tree, indicates the respective lineages close or distant, starting with Richard Bligh in 1742. Drawing of William Bligh. Mr Haddon was trying to prove the connection between Admiral Sir Richard Bligh, and his son, Captain George Bligh, and Lieutenant William Bligh of the Mutiny of the Bounty saga of 1789. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 17, part. 4, Feb 1991, pages 252-253, FHL Ref. 942.27 B2h
Ellicott Family Bible. Eileen Luke acquire through her mother in law's death the Family Bible, which has the Elizabeth Harriett Luke marrying John Richard Ellicott at Alverstoke in 1866. Bible has a listing of 21 names. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 31, part 1, page 10, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 49-53. Date accessed: 27 April 2012.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 5 October 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.