Alvanley, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cheshire
Cheshire Parishes
Alvanley

Guide to Alvanley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alvanley, Cheshire
Alvanley Church, Cheshire.jpg
Alvanley Church
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Runcorn
Registration District Runcorn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1809
Bishop's Transcripts: 1811
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History

ALVANLEY, is a chapelry, in the parish of Frodsham, union of Runcorn, the second division of the hundred of Eddisbury, S. division of the county of Chester, it is 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Frodsham. [1]

Alvanley St John the Evangelist was created as chapelry in the ancient parish of Frodsham. In the present church is a wooden board giving the list of curates since 1677 and vicars since 1861

The church was built in 1860 to a design by J. S. Crowther at the expense of Catherine Emma Arden, the youngest daughter of Richard Arden, 1st Baron Alvanley.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records

Alvanley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Alvanley Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Nonconformist Churches

There were no known nonconformist congregations in Alvanley.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Runcorn (1837–1974)
  • Vale Royal (1974–98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
  • Cheshire West (post 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Runcorn Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Before 1858, Avanley, along with the rest of the county of Cheshire, was under the probate jurisdiction of the Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory).  Click on the link to the court for information on access to records and indexes.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Alvanley on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 49-53. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography

Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, p. 96, ISBN 0 907768 18 0