Alvanley, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Alvanley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Runcorn|
|Parish registers: 1809|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1811|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
ALVANLEY, is a chapelry, in the parish of Frodsham, union of Runcorn, the second division of the hundred of Eddisbury, S. division of the county of Chester, it is 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Frodsham. 
Alvanley St John the Evangelist was created as chapelry in the ancient parish of Frodsham. In the present church is a wooden board giving the list of curates since 1677 and vicars since 1861
The church was built in 1860 to a design by J. S. Crowther at the expense of Catherine Emma Arden, the youngest daughter of Richard Arden, 1st Baron Alvanley.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Alvanley is a township-chapelry in Frodsham parish. The church is known as St. John the Evangelist. The original records are at the Record Office:
- Parish registers of christenings 1809-1970, marriage banns 1861-1953, burials 1791-1885. CRO call number: P 81/1/1, P 81/2/1-2, P 81/3, P 81/4.
- Bishop's transcripts for Alvanley, 1811-1877. CRO call number: EDB 7.
Alvanley registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Alvanley St John the Evangelist Chapelry (1791) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1809-1909
|FS BT'S||1811-1877|| NONE
The parish is included in the Cheshire Parishes collection FamilySearch Historical Records at FamilySearch.org.
Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
|Parish Records||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, burials, 1791-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1970. Banns of marriages, 1861-1953.||2186838 Items 10 - 13|
|Burials, 1813-1885.||2186839 Item 1|
Here is a list of church records on microfilm at theFamily History Library in Salt Lake City.
|Bishop's Transcripts||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, burials, 1811-1846, 1848-1868, 1873. Burials, 1874.||1595461 Item 3|
|Baptisms, 1874-1877. Burials, 1874-1877.||1595462 Item 1|
There were no known nonconformist congregations in Alvanley.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
- Runcorn (1837–1974)
- Vale Royal (1974–98)
- Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
- Cheshire West (post 2009)
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Before 1858, Avanley, along with the rest of the county of Cheshire, was under the probate jurisdiction of the Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory). Click on the link to the court for information on access to records and indexes.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Alvanley on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 49-53. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.