Alton Pancras, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Alton Pancras

Guide to Alton, Pancras family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alton Pancras, Dorset
Type Liberty
Civil parish
Ecclesiastical parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Alton Pancras
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Cerne
Registration District Dorchester
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whitchurch
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury

Parish History

ALTON-PANCRAS (St. Pancratius), a parish and liberty, in the union of Cerne, Cerne division of Dorset, 8¼ miles (N.) from Dorchester.[1]

ALTON-PANCRAS, a parish and a liberty in Dorchester district, Dorset. The parish lies on the Downs, 2½ miles NE of Cerne-Abbas, and 7 E by S of Evershot r. station. Post Town, Cerne under Dorchester. Acres, 2,243. Real property, £2,642. Pop., 270.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Alton Pancras, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1650
1650
1650
Images
1650-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1813-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1999 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1700-1879 OnlineParishClerks 1659-1847 FreeREG[7] 1677-1857 findmypast[8]
1731-1812 findmypast[9] 1674-1749 findmypast[10] 1700-1879 OnlineParishClerks
1674-1847 OnlineParishClerks 1731-1812 findmypast[11]
1674-1836 Joiner[12]
1674-1812 FamilyRelatives[13]
1674-1812 TheGenealogist[14]
1674-1836 findmypast[15]
1790-1812 Ancestry[16]


Alton Pancras, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[17]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[18]
Alton Pancras, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1700-1879
1659-1847
1700-1879
TGEN
1674-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 44-49. Date accessed: 03 July 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed 03 July 2103.
  3. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  7. Dorset Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 21 May 2012.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  9. 'Dorset Baptism Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  10. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 21 May 2012.
  11. 'Dorset Burial Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  12. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 21 May 2012.
  13. 'Dorset Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 21 May 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  14. 'Dorset Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 21 May 2012.
  15. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  16. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  17. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  18. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.