Alta, Finnmark, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Alta, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Finnmark County
Alta


Guide to Alta, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Libraryfor Alta prestegjeld (clerical district).  Contains parish registers for the parishes Alta and Kåfjord. They were separated from the combined Alta-Talvik clerical district in 1862. For earlier records see Talvik clerical district.  Records available from 1837-1904. 

For 1862 and earlier see Talvik

Digitized images of parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Alta: 1856-1931
Alta/Alta: 1858-1931
Alta/Kåfjord: 1856-1921

Census Records

  • 1801:  Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge.  The 1801 census for Alta prestegjeld (clerical district) is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  The 1801 census (b. 65) for Alta-Talvik clerical district includes Alta, Talvik, and Kåfjord parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

   A typewritten edition with indexes is available on microfiche. It is called "Mikrokortutgåva av 1801-            teljina".  Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway.


  • 1865:  Folketælling 31 December 1865. The 1865 census for Alta prestegjeld (clerical district) include the parishes of Alta and Kåfjord and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.  Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø in Norway.


  • 1875:  Folketælling for kongeriget Norge den 31te December 1875.  The 1875 census for Alta prestegjeld include the parishes of Alta and Kåfjord and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway, as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway.


  • 1900:  Folketælling for Norge, 3 Dec 1900.  The 1900 census for Alta prestegjeld (clerical district) include the parishes of Alta and Kåfjord and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway; as wll as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway.


  • 1910:  Folketellingen for Norge den 1ste desember 1910.  The 1910 census for Alta is available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway; as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway. 

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Tverelvdalens slektshistorie, 1968

Author: Simen Romsdal

FHL INTL Book 948.453/A1 D2r

Farm Names

Apshaug, Bakken Bakkeeng, Bakkely, Bjørnengen, Bjerke, Bjørnstad, Drømmen, Eggen, Forord, Fjellmo, Flinketad, Furu, Furubakken, Gammelsetra, Isberget, Jøraholmen, Kjelsberg, Kjossletten, Lampe, Losvar, Lund, Lyng, Mannsverk, Moen, Moflaten, Moksnes, Molund, Moland, Nyengen, Nygåard, Opgård, Oppseth, Paulsen, Rognskog, Romsdal, Rusten, Rydningsmannen, Saga, Sageng, Skogheim, Solheim, Solvang, Stengelsen, Stranda, Strandsletta, Solbakken, Sætrum, Sæterhaug, Sætermo, Sønvisen, Tangen, Tjærebakken, Tverelvdalen Øvre, Vangen, Vannmoen, Østlyngen, Øvergård, Øvermo, Ås

Genealogy

Boomer, Helen Lillian Foss, 1917: Satrum family history 1734-1983. Ole Laurits Larsen Satrum (1867-1944) immigrated from Norway to Chicago, Illinois, married Oline (Oleanna) Sønvisen in 1893, and settled in Calumet, Michigan, moving to Amery, Wisconsin in 1909, and immigrated to Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan about 1911. Descendants lived in Saskatchewan, British Columbia and elsewhere.  Some descendants remained in the United States, living in Wisconsin, Minnesota, Michigan, Illinois, Florida and elsewhere. Includes ancestors in the parishes of Alta and Hammerfest and elsewhere in Finnmark County, Norway.

FHL 929.271 Sa83

To view a digital version click here

Romsdal, Simen: Tverelvdalens slektshistorie. A genealogy of the people and their farms in Tverelvdalen in Alta in Finnmark county.

FHL 948.453/A1 D2

Probate Records

1686-1844: Records are found in Finnmark judicial district.

1839-1891: Records are found in Alta judicial district.