Alster Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Alster Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Alster Church

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Alster Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Karlstad
Pastorat -1869 Väse, 1869-1961 Alster, 1962- Nyed
Län -1779 Närke och Värmland, 1779- Värmland
Landskap Värmland
Härad add here
Tingslag -1876 Väse, 1877-1947 Ölme, Visnum and Väse, 1948-1951 Östersysslet, 1952-1970 Älvdal och Nyed
Domsaga Mellansysslets, 1971- Karlstad
Fögderi 1682-1946 Östersysslet, 1946-1966 Karlstad
Kommun Karlstad
Militär indelning Nerikes Regemente
Alster och Carlstads Kompanier
Nya Ordin. Soldat-Roteringen,
Extra Soldat-Roteringen
NAD Ref Code SE/VA/13007
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names:[edit | edit source]

Alster Prästgården, Allström, Allström Bruk, Allström Torp

Backa, Bengtsbol, Bergstorp, Bergsäng, Bjurerud, Björby, Blomsterhult, Brandsbol, Byn, Bäckelid, Bäckelidstorp

Djupdalen, Duvenäs, Döle

Erikslund

Finsnäs, Forsnäs Norra, Forsnäs Södra, Forsnäs Bruk

Gasthult, Glänne, Gräsås, Gunnerud, Gunnerud bruk

Hallanda, Hartorp, Hasselbol, Hornängen, Hult, Höje, Höje Västra, Hösserud

Karlsdal, Kilstad, Kolstorp, Kolstorpsön, Kristineberg, Kungsbacken, Kustorp, Kärne

Labråten, Lindrågen, Lunsby, Långnäs, Långstorp, Lövnäs

Mosserud, Mosstorp, Mosserudstorp, Murtorp, Mällsjö

Norra Forsnäs, Nybacka, Nygård, Nöttebråten

Pistolstorp, Prästgården

Riksmyren, Ringsåker, Rosendal, Rotenäs, Råbäcken

Samsjötorp, Sandsäterstorp, Sjöstad, Skarpängen, Skacklerud, Skrymterud, Skål, Snårstad, Snårstadstorp, Sofielund, Storbråten, Stubberud, Sunnanå, Svednäs, Säter, Södra Forsnäs

Tällerud

Udden, Ulvsbyn

Ås, Åsmossen, Åstorp

Ängen

Öjering


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Värmland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Värmland and then select your parish.


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References:[edit | edit source]

Alster Husförhörslängd 1836-1840 Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Alster Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). May 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/