Alsted Parish, Sorø, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Sorø County
Alsted
Alsted Runic Stone


History

Originally Alsted and Fjenneslev formed their own chapelry with Alsted as the main parish and Fjenneslev as the annex. Then in 1971, Alsted-Fjenneslev was merged with the Slaglille-Bjernede chapelry. Slaglille became the new main parish and Alsted was reduced to an annex. A Runic Stone was dicovered in the nave under the tower in the west wall. This runic stone bears a cross and is clearly Christian. The church also has several Catholic frescos created before 1200 by the Jørlunde workshop which was associated with the Hvide (White) family. These were first uncovered in 1891.

The church records from 1814-1852 are transcripts of the hovedministerial records.

Alsted Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), Roskilde (1922-Present)
Provsti Alsted herreds (Early-1808), Sorø amts (1808-1828), Ringsted og Alsted herreders (1828-1972), Ringsted-Sorø (1972-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Alsted-Fjenneslev (Early-1971), Slaglille-Bjernede-Alsted-Fjenneslev (1971-Present)
Amtstue Sorø (1660-1682), Ringsted og Sorø (1682-1870), Slagelse (1870-1973)
Len -1662 Sorø Klosters
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Sorø (1660-1748), Sorø og Ringsted (1748-1798)
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Sorø (1798-1970), Vestsjællands (1970-Present)
Herred (district) Alsted
Kommune (municipality) Alsted-Kirke Fjenneslev (1842-1966), Fjenneslev (1966-1970), Sorø og Ringsted (1970-Present)
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 3
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 3
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 2/56
Gods (estate) Sorø Akademis gods; Juellund gods; Eriksholm gods; Grebskabet Ledreborg


Place Names:

Alsted, Alsted Kro, Alsted Mølle, Alsted, Lb., Alsted-Flinterup, Alstedgaard,

Brunemark, Brunemark, Lb.,

Engelsborggaarden, Engelsborghuset,

Flinterup, Alsted-, Lb., Frederikshåb, Fuglager, Fuglagergaard,

Ganneskov,

Hollænderhus, Hjortet, Hylstrup, Hylstrup, Lb,.

Knudstrup, Knudstrup, Lb., Knudstrupgaard, Krogerupgaarden,

Langed,

Manglehøjgaard,

Oldengaard,

Simonsborg, Gd., Stubbegaard,

Titmosegaard, Tuelå,

Østervang

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Præstø County: Næsby, Tyvelse, Vrangstrup

Sorø County: Fjenneslev, Lynge, Sigersted, Slaglille, Vester Broby

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Sorø Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Denmark, Sorø" and then select your parish.


References

-Krabsen Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
Link,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.3, Sorø Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1921