To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Alsager, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Alsager, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alsager, Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxton
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1639
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malpas
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ALSAGER, is a chapelry, in the parish of Barthomley, the union of Congleton, hundred of Northwich, S. division of the county of Chester, it is 4 miles (W.) from Church-Lawton. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Alsager Christ Church was bult as a chapel of ease for the Ancient parish of Barthomley. 

The church was built in 1789–90 at the expense of three "Ladies of the Manor of Alsager", Mary, Margaret and Judith Alsager to a design by Thomas Stringer. It was a chapel of ease to St Bertoline's Church, Barthomley and became a parish church in 1946. To celebrate the centenary of the church a new organ was acquired and dedicated in 1889.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Alsager parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Alsager Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Alsagar was formerly a chapelry in the parish of Barthomley, St. Bertoline (C of E).

  • Alsager, Christ Church (C of E). Built in 1789 as a chapel to Barthomley, and assigned to the township of Alsager in 1852, becoming a separate parish in 1946.
  • Alsager, St. Mary Magdalene (C of E). Built in 1898 as a new parish church for Alsager.
  • Bishop's transcripts for Christ Church in Alsager, 1789-1842.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

  • Alsager, St. Gabriel (Roman Catholic). Built in 1955.
  • Alsager, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Chapel Lane/Hassall Road. Built in 1834, rebuilt in 1852.
  • Alsager, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Crewe Road. Built in 1862, closed in 1969. .
  • Alsager, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Wesley Place/Lawton Road. Built in 1869.
  • Alsager, United Reformed Church (formerly Independent/Congregational). Built in 1877

Non-Conformist Records:

  • Sandbach and Alsager Wesleyan Methodist Circuit, baptisms 1838-1956. Localities include Sandbach, Sandbach Heath, Alsager, Elton, Bradwall, Smallwood, Warmingham, Betchton, Coppenhall, Odd Rode, Crewe, Congleton, Lawton, Nantwich, Biddulph, Ettiley Heath, Thurlwood, Rode Heath, Willaston, Sproston, Hassall, Haslington, and Elworth.
  • Alsager Primitive Methodist, baptisms 1863-1967.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search at FamilySearch.org. It includes the Sandbach and Alsager Wesleyan Methodist Circuit baptisms. 

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at theFamily History Library in Salt Lake City.

Content FHLFilm
Sandbach and Alsager Wesleyan Circuit,
Baptisms, 1838-1956
BRITISH  2299550 Item 7
Alsager Primitive Methodist,
Baptisms, 1863-1967
BRITISH  2299417 Item 14

The following records are in the collection of The National Archives, Kew, London:

  • Alsager, Chapel Lane Methodist Chapel, 1911-1968 Minutes, accounts. (Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 206.)
    A chapel was built in Chapel Lane, now Hassall Road, by the Wesleyan Methodists in 1834. This became the Sunday School when the new chapel was built in 1852.  Extent 11 files:
  • Alsager, Crewe Road Methodist Chapel, 1863-1973.   Registers, minutes, records related to the chapel buildings. (Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 207.)  The chapel was built by the Primitive Methodists in 1862, closed in 1969 and subsequently sold. Extent 7 files. Access restricted for 50 years, accept registers: [1]
  • Alsager Wesley Place Methodist Chapel, 1869-1973.  Minutes, accounts, records related to the chapel and school buildings. (Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 208.) The chapel was built in Lawton Road by the Wesleyan Methodists in 1869. Extent 15 files. Access restricted for 50 years:

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  •  Congleton (1837–1937)
  •  Crewe (1937–74)
  •  Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  •  South Cheshire (1988–98)
  •  Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Alsager on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 44-49. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 58–59, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, pp. 95, ISBN 0 907768 18 0