Alphamstone, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Alphamstone


Guide to Alphamstone, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alphamstone, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Sudbury
Registration District Sudbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1705
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hedingham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

ALPHAMSTONE, is a parish, in the union of Sudbury, the hundred of Hinckford, and N. division of Essex, it is 5 miles (N. E.) from Halstead. This parish includes the hamlet of Bures.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Alphamstone, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Alphamstone, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1707-1836
ESSEX 1705-1939 1707-1836 1705-1812
FREG 1705-1900 1707-1756, 1814-1836 1705-1813
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1705-1814
NBI 1705-1811
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

Alphamstone on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: Accessed date 7 June 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 19 April 2012.
  5. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  6. Batch C043441, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.