Alnwick, Northumberland Genealogy
Guide to Alnwick, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Michael Church Alnwick
|Poor Law Union||Alnwick|
|Parish registers: 1645|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1777|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ALNWICK (St. Mary and St. Michael), a market town and parish, and the head of a union, in the E.division of Coquetdale ward, N. division of Northumberland, of which it is the county town, 33 miles (N.by W.) from Newcastle, and306 (N. by W.) from London; comprising the townships of Alnwick, Southside, Shieldykes, AbbeyLands, Canongate, Denwick, and Hulne Park. There are places of worship for Independents, a United Secession Relief congregation, Presbyterians, Wesleyans, New Connexion of Methodists, Unitarians and a Roman Catholic chapel. 
Alnwick St Michael is an ancient parish and other places in the parish include: Abbey Lands, Alnwick South Side, Broomhouse, Canledge Park, Canongate, Cauledge Park, Denwick, Friars Buildings, Greensfield, Grumwells Park, Gumwell's Park, Heckley, Heckley Farm, Heckley Grange, Hobberlaw, Hulme Park, Hulne Abbey, Hulne Park, Park-Farm, Rugley, Shieldykes, Snipe House, and Whitehouse.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Alnwick, Northumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS PRs = FamilySearch Parish Registers - free|
|Alnwick, Northumberland Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/6 October 1777- 1890 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
Engineers are investigating two cut off images in this parish. Image 806 of 1516 and 1002 of 1516 relate to:
Marriage entries 1830 numbers 609-620 on transcript DDR/EA/PBT/646
Burial entries 1837 numbers 25-40 in transcript DDR/EA/PBT/840-841
The image collection for this parish may need to be reloaded in future.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Alnwick, St Michael: Records of baptisms 1645-1967, marriages 1646-1987 and burials 1646-1992 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1645-1812 and marriages 1646-1812 for this parish. Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1646-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1645-1812 and marriages and burials 1646-1812 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Noncormist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
St Mary, Bailiffgate (Roman Catholic): Records of births/baptisms 1794-1950, marriages 1846-1938 and deaths 1856-1978 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The I.G.I. includes births/baptisms 1794-1840 and some marriages.
The following nonconformist records are available at Northumberland Collections Service.
- Alnwick 'A' Circuit (Methodist) - Baptisms 1940-1972
- Alnwick Wesleyan Circuit (Methodist) - Baptisms 1791-1952. The I.G.I. includes baptisms 1787-1837.
- Bondgate (Methodist) - Baptisms 1870-1940
- Clayport Meeting House (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1785-1838. These are included on the I.G.I.
- Ebenezer Meeting House (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1817-1831. These are included on the I.G.I.
- Green Batt (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1785-1954. The I.G.I. includes baptisms 1785-1838.
- Lisburn Street (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1878-1881.
- Pottergate (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1760-1836, 1904-1988. The I.G.I. includes births/baptisms 1760-1836.
- St Paul (Roman Catholic) - Marriages 1982.
- Zion Meeting House (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1762-1837. These are included on the I.G.I.
The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) also includes births/baptisms 1800-1836 for Alnwick, Bethal (Methodist New Connexion). These are apparently circuit records for Alnwick M.N.C. Circuit.
Early Primitive Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Berwick-upon-Tweed P.M. Circuit. Records for 1829-1837 can be seen at Northumberland Collections Service.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.