To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Allendale County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Allendale County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.


{{{link}}}


Allendale County, South Carolina
Map
Map of South Carolina highlighting Allendale County
Location in the state of South Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 6, 1919
County Seat Allendale
Courthouse


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for John Topper, a local resident who discovered it. The County is located in the southwest central area of the state.[1]

Allendale County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1919 1919 1919 1919 1919 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Allendale County South Carolina Courthouse[edit | edit source]

AllendaleSC.jpg


Allendale County Courthouse
292 Barnwell Hwy.
Allendale, SC 29810

Allendale County Probate Judge
P.O. Box 603
Allendale, SC 29810
Phone: 803-584-5157
Probate and Marriage records

Allendale County Clerk of Court
P.O. Box 126
Allendale, SC 19810
Phone: 803-584-2737
Court records

Allendale County South Carolina History[edit | edit source]

Allendale County is named for the town of Allendale which was named for Paul H. Allen, the first postmaster of Allendale.[3] Allendale County is the youngest of South Carolina's counties.[4] Learn more about the history of Allendale County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.

Parent County/Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For more information as well as maps of Allendale County through time, see the South Carolina State Archives or For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]

Hear it spoken.[5]

County Seat[edit | edit source]

The county seat of Allendale County is Allendale.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1998 The original Courthouse was burned in May of 1998. Reconstruction and renovations of the Courthouse began in August of 2002.

Allendale County South Carolina Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

African Americans[edit | edit source]

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Beldock Mills
  • Belfast
  • Bonniewood
  • Bull Pond
  • Cedar Grove - Martin
  • Cedar Hall - Boiling Springs
  • Colding-Walker House - Appleton
  • Duck Branch
  • Duck Savannah
  • Dyches Mill - Baldock
  • Elmwood
  • Erwinton - Bull Pond
  • Gravel Hill - Bull Pond
  • Groton - Solomons Crossroads
  • Hickory Hill
  • Ivanhoe
  • Joint Stock
  • Lacklawn - Allendale
  • Lethe
  • Levy's Bay - Barton
  • Lime Spring - Barton
  • Mixon
  • Mock Orange
  • Oakland
  • Oaklawn
  • Obininanza
  • Old Dry Slope - Orange Hill
  • Orange Grove - Johnsons Landing
  • Richmond Hill
  • River Swamp
  • Robwood - Appleton
  • Roselawn - Allendale
  • Seminole
  • Sycamore
  • Stillwood - Barton
  • Vauclause
  • Willingham - Bull Pond

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
SCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1920 16,098
1930 13,294 −17.4%
1940 13,040 −1.9%
1950 11,773 −9.7%
1960 11,362 −3.5%
1970 9,692 −14.7%
1980 10,700 10.4%
1990 11,722 9.6%
2000 11,211 −4.4%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
1920 and 1930 federal population schedules of Allendale County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church[edit | edit source]

The Inventory of (SC) Church Archives 1937-1939 is available for free online, courtesy: South Caroliniana Library. Allendale County's W.P.A. reports are included.

Allendale County Churches identifies dozens of churches in the area, courtesy: South Carolina Genealogical Society.

Court[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

This bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" (Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Allendale, South Carolina at World Connect, results in more than 700 entries.

Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

Message Boards

Bibliography

Land[edit | edit source]

Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.

Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Allendale County:

Tracing Land Currently in Allendale County originiating in Barnwell County with Parent Counties and Districts [6]
Date Government Office  
1919-Present Allendale County
1868-1871 Barnwell County
1800-1868 Barnwell District
1791-1799 Records Lost*
1786-1791 Winton County"
1769-1786 Records Lost"*
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
 

*Orangeburg District records destroyed by fire



Tracing Land Currently in Allendale County originating in Hampton County with Parent Counties and Districts [7]
Date Government Office  
1919-present Allendale County
1878-1919 Hampton County
1868-1878  Beaufort County
1865-1868 Beaufort District
1769-1865 Beaufort District Records Lost
1710-1769 Charleston District
1670-1710 Proprietary Land Grants



Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868


  • Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Burke CountyScreven CountyBarnwell CountyBamberg CountyColleton CountyHampton CountySC ALLENDALE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Regiments. Allendale County was created after the Civil War in 1919 from Barnwell and Hampton counties. During the Civil War, men from the area of Allendale County would have served in various regiments recruited in those counties.Counties were called districts during the Civil War.

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic

The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Allendale County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

Current

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.”[8] Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Allendale County.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration began in 1915.  For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health.  The Allendale County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information.  For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.

The probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.

Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information.  See South Carolina Newspapers.

Marriages - Indexes

  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in  some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915.  For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Allendale County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years.  For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths - Indexes and Records

Allendale County South Carolina Genealogy Archives, Libraries, and Museums[edit | edit source]


Allendale County South Carolina Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage[edit | edit source]

Allendale County Historical Society
P. O. Box 523
Allendale, SC 29810

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Allendale County South Carolina Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Allendale County, South Carolina

Allendale County South Carolina Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Aiken County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allendale_County,_South_Carolina." accessed on the 3/27/2019
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Allendale County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  3. Workers of the Writers' Program of the Works Projects Administration in the State of South Carolina, Palmetto Place Names (The Reprint Company: Spartanburg, S.C., 1975) 11.
  4. South Carolina State Library, "Allendale County".
  5. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  6. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  7. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  8. Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."

...