Allen County, Kentucky Genealogy
Guide to Allen County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, military records, and immigration records.
|Allen County, Kentucky|
Location in the state of Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
|Founded||January 11, 1815|
- 1 Allen County Kentucky Courthouse
- 2 Allen County Kentucky History
- 3 Allen County Kentucky Places / Localities
- 4 Allen County Kentucky Genealogy Resources
- 4.1 African Americans
- 4.2 Bible Records
- 4.3 Biographies
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.4.1 Census
- 4.4.2 Church
- 4.4.3 Court
- 4.4.4 Genealogy
- 4.4.5 Land
- 4.4.6 Local Histories
- 4.4.7 Maps
- 4.4.8 Military
- 4.4.9 Newspapers
- 4.4.10 Obituaries
- 4.4.11 Probate Records
- 4.4.12 Taxation
- 4.4.13 Vital Records
- 5 Allen County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Allen County Kentucky Genealogy Websites
- 7 Allen County Kentucky Genealogy References
Allen County Kentucky Courthouse
Allen County Kentucky History
For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1902--A disaster destroyed many records.
Allen County Kentucky Places / Localities
|Allen Springs||Forest Springs||Mount Zion||Scottsville|
|Cedar Springs||Holland||Pope||West Fork|
|Chapel Hill||Maynard||Port Oliver Ford||Yesse|
|Clare||McElroy Ford||Raley Ford|
|Eubanks Ford||Meador||Red Hill|
Allen County Kentucky Genealogy Resources
- The Kentucky African American Griots Project ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
- Hangings in Kentucky, 1792 - 1900 ~ Sandi Gorin's Research Tips
The following web sites have additional information on Allen county cemeteries.
- Kentucky Cemeteries lists the national cemeteries in Kentucky with links to their web sites.
- Interment.net has cemeteries listed for Allen County.
- ePodunk list of Allen County cemeteries gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.
- Cemetery Junction by daddezio.com has limited listing for Allen County Cementeries.
- by usgwarchives.net is a transcription of the C. L. Weaver Cemetery, Halifax, Allen Co., KY.
- by AllenCountyKY.com is a searchable on-line database.
1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Allen County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Kentucky Census Transcriptions 1850 - 1930
- The USGenWeb Census Images ~ The USGenWeb Census Images Project
- Kentucky Census Transcriptions ~ The USGenWeb Census Project
- Census Online ~ Census Online
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.
- Kentucky Christian Church Directory
- Catholic Parishes in the Archdiocese of Louisville
- Catholic Parishes in the Archdiocese of Lexington
- Allen County, KY Courthouse Records
- Abstracts of Early Supreme Court Cases ~ A KYGenWeb Special Project
- Kentucky Court of Justice Research and Reference
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
- [Holder] Reneau, Martha Powell. The Holder Family of Barren and Allen Counties, Kentucky. [Glasgow, Ky.]: M. Reneau, [1972?]. FHL Book 929.273 H711rm; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online
- [Long] Buchanan, Paul C. and Susie M. Owens. "Henry Long and Some Descendants of Colonial Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 38, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1994):115-126; Vol. 38, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1994):190-200; Vol. 38, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1994):263-273; Vol. 39, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1995):27-31. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 38 (1994)-v. 39 (1995).
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Allen County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.
- AllenCountyKY.com SEARCHABLE ON-LINE DATABASE
- Military Resources Records from the Revolutionary War through the Civil War
- Korean War Memorial for Soliders from Kentucky
- Fallen Soldiers in World War I from KY
- 1861-1865 - Kentucky Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Kentucky Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1912-1950 - Kentucky Confederate Pension Applications 1912-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
Regiments. Service men in Allen County, Kentucky Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Allen County, Kentucky Genealogy:
- - 1st Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company E
- - 52nd Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, E, and F.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- KY Footsteps Archives ~ KY Footsteps List Archives - thousands of obituaries here ~ KYGenWeb Project
- KY Obituary Sources ~ Kentucky Obituary Sources ~ Compiled by the KYGenWeb Project
- Links to research and locate obituaries
- Browning Genealogy Database ~ The Browning Genealogy Database - A Collection of Obituaries Compiled by Charles Browning.
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Kentucky Obituary Project
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Kentucky Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
- Nashville Advocate ~ Death Abstracts from the Nashville Christian Advocate
Probate records are held by the Allen County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Allen County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- 1774 – 1999 Kentucky Wills and Probate Records 1774-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1727 – 1990 Kentucky Probate Records 1727-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1798-1920 - AllenCountyKY.com SEARCHABLE ON-LINE DATABASE. Abstracts arranged by time period and testator's surname.
- 1824-1977 - Will Books A to E and 1 to 4 (1824-1977) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Allen County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Allen County, Kentucky Genealogy Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records..
- How to order Kentucky Vital Records
- AllenCountyKY.com SEARCHABLE ON-LINE DATABASE
- Searchable KY Vital Records ~ Searchable databases of KY Births, Deaths and Marriages
- 1852-1861 - Allen County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch M517011 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1874 - Allen County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517022 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1839-1960 - KY Births and Christenings ~ Kentucky Births and Christenings, Family Search
- 1783 - 1979 - KY Marriage Records ~ KY Marriages ~ Family Search
- 1797-1954 - Kentucky, County Marriages, 1797-1954 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1815-1889 - Early Allen County Marriage Records
- 1852-1861 - Allen County Marriage Index 1852-1861. Batch M517021 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1878 - Allen County Marriage Index 1878. Batch M517023 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1973 - 2000 - Kentucky Marriage Records 1973 - 2000 ~ Kentucky Marriage Records
- 1843-1970 - KY Deaths and Burials ~ KY Deaths and Burials
- 1911-1963 - Kentucky Death Records, 1911-1963 at FamilySearch — index and images
- The Kentucky Vital Records Project Transcriptions of and Images of KY Death Certificates - A Work in Progress ~ The KY Vital Records Project
- The Social Security Death Index The Social Security Death Index - Searchable
- 1973 - 1993 - KY Divorces 1973 - 1993 ~ Kentucky Divorce Records ~ University of Kentucky Vital Records Databases
Allen County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Allen county, Kentucky Historical Society
301 North Fourth Street
Scottsville, KY 42164
Membership Dues: Single-$10.00,Husband and Wife-$12.50
Research Materials available at the Historical Society
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Allen County Kentucky Genealogy Websites
- Allen County, KY History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Allen County Kentucky Web Site (Contact information for county officials)
- KYGenWeb-Allen County Site. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Allen County, Kentucky Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Allen County KY Genealogy (Kentucky Genealogy)
Allen County Kentucky Genealogy References
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Allen County, Kentucky page 268, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.