Alleghany County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Alleghany County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Alleghany County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||January 5, 1822|
- 1 Alleghany County Virginia Courthouse
- 2 Alleghany County Virginia History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Alleghany County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- 4.1 Research Guides
- 4.2 African Americans
- 4.3 Bible Records
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Census
- 4.6 Church Records
- 4.7 Court
- 4.8 Genealogy
- 4.9 Land
- 4.10 Local Histories
- 4.11 Maps
- 4.12 Military
- 4.13 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.14 Naturalization
- 4.15 Newspapers
- 4.16 Occupations
- 4.17 Petitions
- 4.18 Probate Records
- 4.19 Taxation
- 4.20 Vital Records
- 5 Alleghany County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Alleghany County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 Alleghany County Virginia Genealogy References
Alleghany County Virginia Courthouse
Allegheny County Courthouse
266 West Main Street
Covington, VA 24426-0670
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1845
Divorce, Probate, Court and land recrord from 1822
Alleghany County Virginia History
The county was named after the Alleghany Mountains.
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, visit "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995)
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Alleghany County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Alleghany County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jul-Sep. 1959):129-131. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg and American Ancestors ($).
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1871
- Boyd-Bragg, Dorothy A. "A Register of Free Negroes & Mulattoes in Alleghany County, Virginia, 1855-1856," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 49, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2005):307-312. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Alleghany County, Virginia Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Alleghany County:
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
- Burton, Charles T. Botetourt County, Va., 1785 Enumeration. Troutville, Va.: Burton?, 1972. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.583 X2b and FHL US/CAN Film 928249 Item 2, each with links to digital version. [All or part of present-day county of Alleghany is included.]
- Douthat, James L. 1840 Alleghany County, Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website.
- Perkins, Louise M. 1860 Alleghany County, Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website.
1890 Union Veterans
- "Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890." Prince William County Virginia, by Ronald Ray Turner. FHL Collection.
Several genealogies have been published about Alleghany County families. To view a list, visit Alleghany County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
- Alleghany County, Virginia: Its Resources and Industries. 1907. Digital version at Google Books (full-view).
- McAllister, Hugh Maffitt. Historical Sketch of Alleghany County, Virginia. Richmond: n.p., 1910. Available at FHL US/CAN Fiche 6015385; online collection with index and images at Ancestry ($).
- McAllister, W.A. "Pioneer Days in Alleghany County," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Oct., 1902), pp. 183-187; Vol. 10, No. 3 (Jan. 1902):254-257. Digitized by JSTOR - free.
- Morton, Oren Frederic. A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia. Dayton, Va.: J.K. Ruebush Co., 1923. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.581 H2m and FHL US/CAN Film 599242 Item 1; online collection with index and images at Ancestry ($).
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Allegany County on page 133.]
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Governnment Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Alleghany County, p. 60.]
Civil War service men from Alleghany County served in various regiments. Within a regiment, companies were often comprised of men who lived in a smaller geographical area within the county parameters. Listed below are regiments with whom men from Alleghany County served. Because Confederate units often reorganized, this list might not be complete.
The following Regiments are mentioned in A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia, by Oren Frederic Morton FHL book 975.581 H2m
- - 2nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate), A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia, only lists the names of five men who were from Alleghany County.
- - 10th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I (Riverton Invincibles).
- - 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Valley Regulators).
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (1st Kanawha Regiment). Company G (Rocky Point Grays).
- - 27th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate) . Company A Light Infantry (Alleghany Roughs), Company B (Virginia Hibernians), and Company C (Alleghany Rifles).
- - 59th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G1 (Alleghany Rifles).
- - 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company D (The Allegheny Rifles).
However, A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia, also lists additional names of Alleghany Companies such as the Alleghany Rough Artillery (Capt. John C. Carpenter's Co.) , Alleghany Light Infantry (Co. A, 27th Regiment) afterwards called Alleghany Artillery, Alleghany Reserves (Co. C, 10th Battalion, Virginia Reserves), Alleghany Rifles (Co. C, 27th Regiment)
Civil War Sources
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index ($)
- Morton, Oren F., A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia, (J. K. Ruebush Company, 1923). (pp. 156-172), FHL book 975.581 H2m
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Alleghany County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
- Alleghany County, Virginia, Its Resources and Industries. 1907. Available at FHL US/CAN Fiche 6015384; online collection with index and images at Ancestry ($).
- Eckenrode, H.J. Virginia State Library: A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford. Richmond, Va.: Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing, 1908. Digital version at Google Books. [Alleghany County petitions (1820-1861) are described on pp. 87-95.]
- 1822-37; 1837-49; 1847-76 - Indexes to Wills, Inventories, Estates Virginia Pioneers ($)
- 1833-37; 1837-49; 1849-76 - Images of Wills, Inventories, Estates Virginia Pioneers ($)
- 1774 - Tithables, 1774, Alleghany Highlands Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr. 1998).
- 1853-1896 - Fridley, Beth. Alleghany County, Virginia Births, 1853-96 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 1999. Index collection available at Ancestry ($).
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1822-1916 - Alleghany County Marriage Index 1822-1916. Batch M868477 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1854-1916 - Virginia Pioneers ($)
Vital Record Substitutes
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Alleghany County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Alleghany County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Cyndi's List
- Alleghany County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- FamilySearch Catalog
Alleghany County Virginia Genealogy References
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alleghany County, Virginia. Page 710 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia Contributors, "Allegheny Mountains," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allegheny_Mountains, accessed 13 January 2012.
- USGS Map, www.trails.com
- Terrence V. Murphy, 10th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 55.
- Oren Frederic Morton, A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia (Dayton, Va.: J.K. Ruebush Co., 1923). FHL Book 975.581 H2m.
- Terry D. Lowry, 22nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 44.
- Lowell Reidenbaugh, 27th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 90.
- G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 59th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 107.
- J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.