To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Alleghany County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Alleghany County, Virginia)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Alleghany County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Alleghany County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Alleghany County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Alleghany County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 5, 1822
County Seat Covington
Courthouse
VirginiaAlexandriaCityCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Alleghany County is located on the far Western edge of the Commonwealth of Virginia, sharing a boundary line with West Virginia. Alleghany took its name from the mountain range on which it borders[1].

Alleghany County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Alleghany County, Virginia Courthouse

Alleghany County Courthouse
P.O.Box 670
266 West Main Street
Covington, VA 24426-0670
Phone 540-965-1730

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1845
Divorce, Probate, Court and land recrord from 1822[2]


Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1822 1853 1822 1822 1822 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Alleghany County Virginia History[edit | edit source]

Allegheny Mountain Range, Spruce Knob<</noinclude>

The county was named after the Alleghany Mountains.[4]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1822--Allegany County was created 5 January 1822 from Bath, Botetourt and Monroe Counties. Monroe County is now in West Virginia.
County seat: Covington [2]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, visit "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995)

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]\

Towns
Unincorporated communities


Alleghany County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

African Americans[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:


Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Virginia Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Alleghany County, Virginia Cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 2,816
1840 2,749 −2.4%
1850 3,515 27.9%
1860 6,765 92.5%
1870 3,674 −45.7%
1880 5,586 52.0%
1890 9,283 66.2%
1900 16,330 75.9%
1910 14,173 −13.2%
1920 15,332 8.2%
1930 20,188 31.7%
1940 22,688 12.4%
1950 23,139 2.0%
1960 12,128 −47.6%
1970 12,461 2.7%
1980 14,333 15.0%
1990 13,176 −8.1%
2000 12,926 −1.9%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
To access census records online, see Virginia Census.
1785[edit | edit source]
  • Botetourt County, Va., 1785 Enumeration. 1972. By Charles T. Burton. Troutville, Virginia : C.T. Burton. Online at: FamilySearch.
1840[edit | edit source]
  • 1840 Alleghany County, Virginia Census. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).
1860[edit | edit source]
  • 1860 Alleghany County, Virginia Census. By Louise M. Perkins. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).
1890 Union Veterans[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Several genealogies have been published about Alleghany County families. To view a list, visit Alleghany County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.

Land[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Bath CountyRockbridge CountyBotetourt CountyCraig CountyMonroe CountyGreenbrier CountyVA ALLEGHANY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Online at: U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Allegany County on page 133.]
  • Index to Revolutionary Pension and Bounty-Land Documents at the Library of Virginia. 2012. Compiled by C. Leon Harris. Online at: Library of Virginia.
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Governnment Printing Office. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5. Online at: Google Books, Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Alleghany County, p. 60.
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Alleghany County served in various regiments. Within a regiment, companies were often comprised of men who lived in a smaller geographical area within the county parameters. Listed below are regiments with whom men from Alleghany County served. Because Confederate units often reorganized, this list might not be complete.

The following Regiments are mentioned in A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia. 1923. By Oren Frederic Morton. Dayton, Virginia : J.K. Ruebush Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).

- 2nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate), A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia, only lists the names of five men who were from Alleghany County.
- 10th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I (Riverton Invincibles).[6]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Valley Regulators).[7]
- 22nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (1st Kanawha Regiment). Company G (Rocky Point Grays).[8]
- 27th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate) . Company A Light Infantry (Alleghany Roughs), Company B (Virginia Hibernians), and Company C (Alleghany Rifles).[9]
- 59th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G1 (Alleghany Rifles).[10]
- 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company D (The Allegheny Rifles).[11]

However, A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia. 1923. By Oren Frederic Morton. Dayton, Virginia : J.K. Ruebush Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat) also lists additional names of Alleghany Companies such as the Alleghany Rough Artillery (Capt. John C. Carpenter's Co.), Alleghany Light Infantry (Co. A, 27th Regiment) afterwards called Alleghany Artillery, Alleghany Reserves (Co. C, 10th Battalion, Virginia Reserves), Alleghany Rifles (Co. C, 27th Regiment).

Civil War Sources

World War II[edit | edit source]

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Alleghany County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.


Occupations[edit | edit source]

Petitions[edit | edit source]

  • Virginia State Library: A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford. 1908. By H.J. Eckenrode. Richmond, Virginia: Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing. Online at: Google Books. Alleghany County petitions (1820-1861) are described on pp. 87-95.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Online Alleghany County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Personal Property - - - - 1822-1855 -

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

  • 1774 - Tithables, 1774, Alleghany Highlands Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr. 1998).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]


at FamilySearch
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Alleghany County, Virginia Genealogy deaths are online in the Library of Virginia's Death Index of Virginia, 1853-1896, sponsored by The Virginia Genealogical Society.


Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]

Alleghany County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Alleghany County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

Alleghany County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alleghany_County,_Virginia
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alleghany County, Virginia. Page 710 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alleghany County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
  4. Wikipedia Contributors, "Allegheny Mountains," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allegheny_Mountains, accessed 13 January 2012.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Alleghany _ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alleghany_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 3 November 2019.
  6. Terrence V. Murphy, 10th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 55.
  7. Oren Frederic Morton, A Centennial History of Alleghany County, Virginia. 1923. By Oren Frederic Morton. Dayton, Virginia : J.K. Ruebush Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
  8. Terry D. Lowry, 22nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 44.
  9. Lowell Reidenbaugh, 27th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 90.
  10. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 59th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 107.
  11. J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Online at: https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.