Alleghany County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Alleghany County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Alleghany County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church
- 4.4 Court
- 4.5 Land
- 4.6 Local Histories
- 4.7 Maps
- 4.8 Military
- 4.9 Newspapers
- 4.10 Probate
- 4.11 Taxation
- 4.12 Vital Records
- 4.13 Yearbooks
- 4.14 Societies and Libraries
- 5 Websites
- 6 References
Alleghany County Courthouse
Main Street PO Box 186
Sparta, NC 28675
Clerk Superior Court has birth death records from 1914
Court records from 1869 & land records from 1860
Alleghany County Register of Deeds
348 S. Main Street, County Adm. Bldg.
Sparta, NC 28675
Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 61
Sparta, NC 28675
Telephone: (336) 372-3900
In 1776 settlers in what would eventually become Tennessee successfully petitioned North Carolina to recognize the Washington District. The District included all of modern Tennessee except two small settlements (North-of-Holston, Fincastle County, and Pendleton, Washington County) in the far northeast that were considered part of Virginia at the time. Washington (old) County was created from Washington District by North Carolina in 1777 as the western county of North Carolina.
In August 1784 delegates from Washington and two other western North Carolina counties which had split off from Washington (all now in Tennessee), declared their Independence from North Carolina because of perceived neglect, and misuse by North Carolina’s legislature. By May 1785 they had petitioned to be admitted to the United States as the new State of Franklin. The Franklin statehood request was denied. By 1789 the hopes for a State of Franklin faded. North Carolina refused to recognize several counties created by Franklin out of Washington County.
North Carolina was admitted to the Union in 1789 and ceded her western counties to the United States. The United States made these western counties into the Southwest Territory. In 1792 North Carolina divided Washington (old) County and annexed some of its land that would later become Alleghany, Ashe, and Watauga counties in North Carolina to Wilkes County, North Carolina. In 1796 the remainder of Washington County became part of the new State of Tennessee.
North Carolina created Ashe County out of Wilkes County in 1799, and in 1859 erected Alleghany County out of Ashe County.
For a detailed assessment of Alleghany records and their availability, see:
- Alleghany County (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Some records were lost in a 1932 courthouse fire. For more information on extant records, see the following:
- Alleghany County (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
Alleghany County currently has seven townships:
- Cherry Lane
- Gap Civil
- Glade Creek
- Piney Creek
- Prathers Creek
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- Alleghany County Cemetery Records North Carolina (Interment.net)
For tips on accessing Alleghany County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Alleghany County Churches (GenWeb)
- Court (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Online Records
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — images
Regiments. Service men in Alleghany County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Alleghany County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company B.
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Detailed Men, Company F
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company B
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company F
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Newspapers (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Alleghany North Carolina GenWeb Obituaries
- Obituaries (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
-  (GenWeb)
- Wills & Estates (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Alleghany County NC Loose Estates Index, 1663-1979
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Alleghany County Birth Records
- 1741-2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1861 - 1922 - Alleghany County Marriage Index 1861-1922 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Marriages (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina County Marriages 1762-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Alleghany County, North Carolina GenWeb
- Alleghany County students at NC colleges - a list via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Alleghany Historical and Genealogical Society
PO Box 817
Alleghany Historical Museum
7 North Main Street
Telephone Number: 336-372-2115
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Alleghany County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Alleghany County, North Carolina (New River Notes)
- Alleghany County, North Carolina (Wikipedia)
- Alleghany County, North Carolina GenWeb (NCGenWeb)
- Alleghany County, North Carolina GenWeb Archives (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Allegheny County, North Carolina p. 506. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Joyce Cox, and W. Eugene Cox, History of Washington County Tennessee (Jonesborough, Tenn.: Washington County Historical Assoc., 2001), 54.
- “State of Franklin” in North Carolina History Project at http://www.northcarolinahistory.org/encyclopedia/99/entry (accessed 27 June 2010).
- Arthur L. Fletcher, Ashe County: A History (Jefferson, N.C.: Ashe County Research Assoc., 1963), 33-34.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002), 506.
- The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.