Allegany County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Allegany County

Guide to Allegany County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Cumberland
Organized: December 25, 1789
Parent County(s): Washington[1]
Variant Spellings: Alleghany
Neighboring Counties
Garrett  • Washington  • Bedford (PA)  • Fulton (PA)  • Somerset (PA)  • Hampshire (WV)  • Mineral (WV)  • Morgan (WV)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Allegany County Courthouse Cumberland, Maryland.jpeg
Location Map
MD Allegany map.png
Adoption
Allegheny Mountain Range Spruce Knob.JPG

County Information

Description

The County was named for Allegheny Mountains. The County has Cumberland as its seat and the County was created December 25, 1789. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Allegany County Courthouse
3 Pershing Street
Cumberland, MD 21502
Phone: 301-777-5911
Allegany County Website

Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, court and land records from 1791 and naturalization records 1821-1973.
Register of Wills has probate records.[3]

Allegany County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1848 1898 1800s 1791 1790 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1898. General compliance by the 1910s.

Record Loss

1893-- A courthouse fire destroyed marriage records for 1791-1847 and naturalization records for 1892-1893.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 25 December 1789: Allegany County was created December 25, 1789 from Washington County.[5]
  • County seat: Cumberland[6]
  • November 4, 1872: The western part of the county was set off to form Garrett County.[7]

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places

Variant Place Names

  • Mount Savage: Arnold Settlement, Corriganville, Jennings, Jennings Run, Jennons Run, Luthworth

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Allegany County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Allegany County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 4,809
1800 6,303 31.1%
1810 6,909 9.6%
1820 8,654 25.3%
1830 10,609 22.6%
1840 15,690 47.9%
1850 22,769 45.1%
1860 28,348 24.5%
1870 38,536 35.9%
1880 38,012 −1.4%
1890 41,571 9.4%
1900 53,694 29.2%
1910 62,411 16.2%
1920 69,938 12.1%
1930 79,098 13.1%
1940 86,973 10.0%
1950 89,556 3.0%
1960 84,169 −6.0%
1970 84,044 −0.1%
1980 80,548 −4.2%
1990 74,946 −7.0%
2000 74,930 −0.0%
2010 75,087 0.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Census records

Church Records

Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Lamar] Lamar, William Harmong, "Thomas Lamar of the Province of Maryland, and a Part of His Descendants," Publications of the Southern History Association, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jul. 1897):203-210. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  • [Randolph] Randolph, Blanche Willie Grace and Deborah Ann Kraemer Small. The Randolphs of Prince William County, Virginia. Little Rock, Arkansas: B. Randolph, 1979. FHL Collection
  • [Randolph] Small, Deborah Ann Kraemer and Blanche Willie Grace Randolph. The Randolphs of Prince William County, Virginia, Volume II. Winter Park, Florida: D. Small, 1989. FHL Collection
  • [Randolph] Raski, Arma, James Randolph, and Glenita Guthrie. Additions & Corrections to Vol. II, the Randolphs of Prince William Co., VA by Deborah K. Small. FHL 6075877

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Allegany County Deed Books (1791-present) have been uploaded to their website: MDLandRec.Net: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Mdallgany.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Maryland, Alleghany County on page 127.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, Alleghany County [sic], pp. 109-110. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Allegany served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Allegany:

- 2nd Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade, Companies A, B, C, E, G, H, I and K.
- 3rd Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade , Companies A, B, C, D and H.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Indexes

School Records

Tax Records

  • 1793 "1793 Tax Assessment of Allegany County," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Apr. 1990):50-55; Vol. 6, No. 3 (Jul. 1990):107-112; Vol. 6, No. 4 (Oct. 1990):160-164.

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Donald L. Alexander Library
    Allegany College of Maryland, Cumerland Campus
    12401 Willowbrook Road, SE
    Cumberland, MD 21502-2596
    Phone: 301-784-5005
    Email: mhay@allegany.edu
    Website
  • Appalachian Collection Allegany College of Maryland 12401 Willowbrook Road SE Cumberland, MD 21502-2596 https://www.allegany.edu/x111.xml

Museums

Societies

  • Genealogical Society of Allegany County
    P. O. Box 3103
    La Vale, MD 21504
    301 777-8850
    Email:
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

Russell, Donna Valley. Allegany and Garrett Counties, Maryland, Genealogical Research Guide. New Market, Md.: Catoctin Press, 1996.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Allegheny," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allegany_County,_Maryland."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Allegany County, Maryland. Page 317-318 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 308-309.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Allegany County, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allegany_County,_Maryland, accessed 27 July 2018.