Allegany County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Allegany County, Maryland)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Allegany County

Guide to Allegany County, Maryland ancestry, family history, and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Allegany County, Maryland
Map
Map of Maryland highlighting Allegany County
Location in the state of Maryland
Map of the U.S. highlighting Maryland
Location of Maryland in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 25, 1789
County Seat Cumberland
Courthouse
Allegany County, Maryland Courthouse.JPG
Address Allegany County Courthouse
3 Pershing Street
Cumberland, MD 21502
Phone: 301-777-5911
Allegany County Website



Allegany County Maryland Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Allegany County, Maryland Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1898 1791 1898 1800 1791 1790

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, court and land records from 1791 and naturalization records 1821-1973. Register of Wills has probate records.[1]

Quick History

The name Allegany comes from the Allegheny Mountains. "Allegany" itself, derived from a local Native American word, oolikhanna, means "beautiful stream."
Allegheny Mountain Range Spruce Knob.JPG
Wikipedia

Parent County

25 December 1789: Allegany County was created 25 December 1789 from Washington County.[2]

Boundary Changes

4 November 1872:  western part of the county was set off to form Garrett County.[3]

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

  • Alleghany

Record Loss

1893-- A courthouse fire destroyed marriage records for 1791-1847 and naturalization records for 1892-1893.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Alleghany County Boundary Map.jpg
Cities

Cumberland | Frostburg

Towns

Barton | Lonaconing | Luke | Midland | Westernport

Communities
Variant Place Names
  • Mount Savage > Arnold Settlement, Corriganville, Jennings, Jennings Run, Jennons Run, Luthworth

Neighboring Counties

Mdallgany.jpg
Maryland counties:

Pennsylvania counties:

West Virginia counties:

Resources

Biographies

Allegany County Biographies

Biographies from Allegany County, Maryland

Cemeteries (Rural)

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MDGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MDInterment
Billion Graves
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information.

For cemeteries in or very near cities or towns, please refer to populated places above.

Census

For tips on accessing Allegany County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Census records

  • 1790
  • 1800
  • 1810
  • 1820
  • 1830
  • 1840
  • 1850
  • 1850 Slave
  • 1860
  • 1860 Slave
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890 Veterans
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church Records

Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.


Court

Allegany County Court Records

Gazetteers

Montgomery

Family Histories

  • [Lamar] Lamar, William Harmong, "Thomas Lamar of the Province of Maryland, and a Part of His Descendants," Publications of the Southern History Association, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jul. 1897):203-210. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  • [Randolph] Randolph, Blanche Willie Grace and Deborah Ann Kraemer Small. The Randolphs of Prince William County, Virginia. Little Rock, Arkansas: B. Randolph, 1979. FHL Collection
  • [Randolph] Small, Deborah Ann Kraemer and Blanche Willie Grace Randolph. The Randolphs of Prince William County, Virginia, Volume II. Winter Park, Florida: D. Small, 1989. FHL Collection
  • [Randolph] Raski, Arma, James Randolph, and Glenita Guthrie. Additions & Corrections to Vol. II, the Randolphs of Prince William Co., VA by Deborah K. SmallFHL 6075877

Land

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Allegany County Deed Books (1791-present) have been uploaded to their website: MDLandRec.Net: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Other Allegany County land resources include:

Allegany County Land Records

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Maryland, Alleghany County on page 127.]
War of 1812
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Maryland, Alleghany County [sic], pp. 109-110. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]


Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Allegany County, Maryland Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Allegany County, Maryland Genealogy:


- 2nd Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade, Companies A, B, C, E, G, H, I and K.
- 3rd Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade , Companies A, B, C, D and H.

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate

Allegany County Wills

  • "Index to Wills of Allegany County, Md., 1784-1850," The Maryland and Delaware Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 1 (Winter 1990):10-11; Vol. 31, No. 2 (Spring 1990):50-51; Vol. 31, No. 3 (Summer 1990):90-91. FHL US/CAN Book 975 B2m

Online Probate Indexes

Research Guides

Russell, Donna Valley. Allegany and Garrett Counties, Maryland, Genealogical Research Guide. New Market, Md.: Catoctin Press, 1996.

Taxation

  • 1793 - "1793 Tax Assessment of Allegany County," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Apr. 1990):50-55; Vol. 6, No. 3 (Jul. 1990):107-112; Vol. 6, No. 4 (Oct. 1990):160-164.

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death

Societies and Libraries

Genealogical Society of Allegany County
P. O. Box 3103
La Vale, MD 21504
301 777-8850
E-Mail: acrosby@frostburg.edu
Website


Allegany Regional Family History Society
P.O. Box 1804
Elkins, WV 26241-1804
Location: I.O.O.F. Lodge Building,
US Rt. 219 & 250, south of Elkins
Email: arfhs@yahoo.com
Website


Donald L. Alexander Library
Allegany College of Maryland, Cumerland Campus
12401 Willowbrook Road, SE
Cumberland, MD 21502-2596
301 784-5005
E-Mail: mhay@allegany.edu
website

Washington Street Library
Attn: Maryland Room Librarian
31 Washington Street
Cumberland, MD 21502
301-777-8850
E-Mail: washingtonstlibrary@allconet.org
Website


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Allegany County, Maryland page 317, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].