All Hallows Staining, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
All Hallows Staining

London All Hallows Staining ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

All Hallows Staining, London
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union East London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1642
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office
All Hallows Staining

Parish History

All Hallows Staining Tower
'All Hallows Staining, church is situated near the eastern extremity of Langbourn Ward, on the west side, and near to the north end of Mark Lane, within four houses all of Fenchurch Street. It is believed to be a Saxon origin from its cognomen Stane, corruptly Staining, the Saxon word for stone, probably to distinguish it from some other that was of wood. It is mentioned as early as 1329, when Edward Camel was it's incumbent. He was actually a rectory under the patronage all of the De Walthams, until 1365, when Simon, Bishop of London, presented it to the abbot and the convent of DeGrace, near the Tower. As the Reformation devolved to the crown and was afterwards sold by James the First to George Bingley and others soccage. It came afterwards into the possession all Lady Slaney, who bequeathed it to the Grocers Company...'[1]


In 1870, All Hallows Staining Parish Church was demolished and the parish united with St. Olave Hart Street.[2] Only the tower stands today.


Tax assessors placed All Hallows Staining Parish within Tower Ward in 1582.[3] It belonged to Langbourn Ward.


1848 parish history:

Allhallows, Staining is a parish of the city of London within the Walls. The patron is the Master and Wardens of the Grocers' Company, who are also the impropriators. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[4]

Resources

Church records

All Hallows Staining parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[5][6]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[7]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[8]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[9][10][11]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[12]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
All Hallows Staining Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1653-1853
FMP Bur



1653-1853
ANC 1 1642-1812 1642-1812 1642-1812 1642-1812 1642-1812 1642-1812
ANC 2 1813-1866 1813-1866 1754-1867 1754-1867 1813-1853 1813-1853
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1642-1870
1754-1837


FS Catalog PRs
1642-1864, 1642-1870, 1653-1870
1642-1864, 1642-1870, 1653-1870
1642-1864, 1642-1870, 1653-1870
FS Catalog BTs
1800-1853
1800-1853
1800-1853

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

1547 Subsidy

  • All Hallows Staining, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/143); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • All Hallows Staining, Tower Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/201); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • All Hallows Staining, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • All Hallows Staining, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/223); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy

  • St Dunstan in the East, All Hallows Barking, St Olave, Hart Street, and All Hallows Staining, Tower Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • All Hallows Staining, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • All Hallows Staining, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

All Hallows Barking.png

1621 Subsidy

  • All Hallows Staining, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/490); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • All Hallows Stayning (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/490); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.
  • All Hallows Staining, Tower Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/501); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • All Hallows Staining, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/549); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidy

  • All Hallows Staining, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/595); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, All Hallows Staining, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

All Hallows Staining churchyard site
Transcripts of early All Hallows Staining, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the All Hallows Staining churchyard.[14]

Find A Grave has a page about All Hallows Staining Church monumental inscriptions.


Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: All Hallows Staining

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitized by Google Books.
  2. Society of Genealogists - England: London Resources, accessed 19 June 2011.
  3. Footnote 139. '1582 London Subsidy Roll: Tower Ward', Two Tudor subsidy rolls for the city of London: 1541 and 1582 (1993), pp. 278-289. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=36143 Date accessed: 05 July 2011.
  4. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170 Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  5. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=All_Hallows_Staining,_London_Genealogy&oldid=3555433"