All Hallows, London Wall, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
All Hallows London Wall

London All Hallows London Wall ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

All Hallows, London Wall, London
All Hallows London Wall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-31; 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

'All Hallows, London Wall, [parish register transcripts from 1559-1875] the church of, stands a little westward of Broad Street in London wall, whence it derives its name. It is a rectory, in the patronage of which was anciently in the prior and convent of the Holy Trinity, near Aldgate, who in 1335 presented it Thomas Richer De Sanston. At the dissolution of religious houses in the reign of Henry VIII, this church, with the priory to which it belonged, was surrendered to the crown, in whose gift the advowson still remains. It escaped the fire in 1666, but became latterly so ruinous that in 1765 the parishioners obtained an act of Parliament to pull it down and rebuild it; which they did... It is a plain substantial church, of brick and stone, with a well proportioned stone tower and cupola.'[1]

In 1442, St Augustine Papey Parish united with All Hallows London Wall.[2]

In 1589, All Hallows London Wall belonged to Aldgate Ward and/or Broad Street Ward.[3] The parish name was also spelled "Allhallows" London Wall. The modern name of this parish is All Hallows on the Wall. It has also been known as Allhallows in the Wall.

1848 parish description:

Allhallows on the Wall with St. Augustine is a parish of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[4]

Resources

Church records

All Hallows London Wall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[5][6]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[7]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[8]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[9][10][11]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[12]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
All Hallows London Wall Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1875
1538-1927
1538-1849
FMP



1754-1849
FMP Bur



1559-1674
ANC 1 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812
ANC 2 1813-1875 1813-1875 1755-1927 1755-1927 1813-1849 1813-1849
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1559-1679, 1670-1799, 1720-1834,
1813-1874

1559-1880, 1675-1726


FS Catalog PRs
1559-1875
1559-1927
1559-1849
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1640, 1801-1837
1629-1640, 1801-1837
1629-1640, 1801-1837

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

The early registers have been published, but the book has yet to be digitized:

  • Edward Basil Jupp and R. Hovenden, ed. The Registers of Christenings, Marriages and Burials of the Parish of Allhallows, London Wall, within the City of London, from the Year of Our Lord 1559 to 1675. Chiswick Press, 1878.[13]

Census records

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • All Hallows, London Wall, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/139); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • All Hallows, London Wall, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/144); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
All Hallows, London Wall.png

1564 Subsidy

  • All Hallows, London Wall, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/217); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • All Hallows, London Wall, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • All Hallows, London Wall, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/489); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • All Hallows, London Wall, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/511); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1628 Subsidy

  • All Hallows, London Wall, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/556); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, All Hallows, London Wall, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, most residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury from the 1750s through 1858.[14] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

All Hallows churchyard site
Transcripts of early All Hallows, London Wall, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[15]
All Hallows churchyard site
]] Transcripts of early All Hallows, London Wall, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[15]

Jupp and Hovenden's published a survey of monumental inscriptions in 1878 (see Church Records).[13]

Find A Grave has started a page on burials at All Hallows on the Wall Church.

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: All Hallows-on-the-Wall

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitized by Google Books.
  2. 'Sources: London parishes and chapels', A Survey of Documentary Sources for Property Holding in London before the Great Fire: London Record Society, 22 (1985), pp. 113-143. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=64584 Date accessed: 03 January 2012.
  3. FamilySearch Books Onlineat Family History Archives (see page 149)
  4. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170 Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  5. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. 13.0 13.1 Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:25.
  14. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  15. 15.0 15.1 Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.