To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

All Hallows, Lombard Street, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
All Hallows Lombard Street

London All Hallows Lombard Street ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

All Hallows, Lombard Street, London
Londonallhallowslombardstreet.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1549
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

'All Hallows, Lombard Street, the church of, is situate in Bell Alley, near the north corner of Lombard Street, in the Ward of Langborn. A church stood here dedicated to the same patrons before the year 1053. It is a rectory, and one of the 13 peculiars within the city, appertaining to the see of Canterbury.The advowson appears to have been anciently in lay hands, as Brithmer, a wealthy citizen, with the approbation calls Archbishop Stigand and Dean Goderic, give it with a messuage adjoining to the cathedral church of Canterbury in the year 1503; by virtue of which donative it still remains in the gift of the Dean and chapter of the Metropolitan Church. It is a neat, plain, and like all Sir Christopher Wren's churches, a welcome proportioned edifice. The body is 84 feet in length, 52 in breadth and 30 in height.'[1]

All Hallows Lombard Street was a part of Langbourn Ward.

All Hallows Bread Street and St John the Evangelist parishes were part of Bread Street Ward. The parish name has also been spelled Allhallows Bread Street. All Hallows Bread Street Church was torn down in 1876.

St John the Evangelist Parish was also known as St John the Evangelist Friday Street Parish. Another name is St John the Evangelist Watling Street Parish.

1848 parish description:

Allhallows, Lombard-street is a parish in the city of London with the Walls. The patron is the Dean and chapter of Canterbury. It is parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

All Hallows Lombard Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[3][4]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
All Hallows Lombard Street Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1550-1853
FMP Bur



1550-1853
ANC 1 1550-1812 1550-1812 1550-1812 1550-1812 1550-1812 1550-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1755-1931 1755-1931 1813-1845 1813-1845
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1813-1846
1813-1837


FS Catalog PRs
1550-1937, 1813-1846
1550-1937, 1813-1846
1550-1937, 1813-1846
FS Catalog BTs
1799-1813
1799-1813
1799-1813

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • All Hallows, Lombard Street, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • All Hallows, Lombard Street, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/143); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • All Hallows, Lombard Street, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • All Hallows, Lombard Street and St Benet, Gracechurch, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/223); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • All Hallows, Lombard Street and St Benet, Gracechurch, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

St Mary at Hill.png

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • All Hallows, Lombard Street, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/484); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • All Hallows, Lombard Street, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/490); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1628 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • All Hallows, Lombard Street, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/562); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • All Hallows, Lombard Street, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/597); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


1811 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1811 Census exists and is held at The British Library.[11]

1821 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1821 Census exists and is held at The British Library.[11]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.

Before 1858, All Hallows, Lombard Street, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Arches of the Archbishop of Canterbury. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the All Hallows Lombard Street churchyard.[12]

Find A Grave has started a page about burials at All Hallows Lombard Street.

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: All Hallows Lombard Street

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170 Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  3. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. 11.0 11.1 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68, 71.
  12. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.