Alkmonton, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Alkmonton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Alkmonton St John Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Ashbourne|
|Parish registers: 1850|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1850|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Alkmonton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1848 from chapelry in Longford, Derbyshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Hungry Bentley and Bentley Hungry.
ALKMONTON, a township in the parish of Longford, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 5¾ miles (S. by E.) from Ashbourn. A chapel of ease has recently been erected (by 1848), containing 120 sittings.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Alkmonton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =England, Derbyshire, Church of England Parish Registers, 1537-1918|
|Alkmonton St John (1850) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1852-1868 Marr none Bur 1856-1867
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Wesleyan Methodist
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Alkmonton on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 34-37. Date accessed: 02 July 2103.