Alkborough, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Alkborough, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Alkborough St John the Baptist Lincolnshire.jpg
|County||Lincolnshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Glanford Brigg|
|Registration District||Glanford Brigg|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Alkborough St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish which includes Walcot and overlooks the confluence of the rivers Trent and Ouse in the Humber estuary.
ALKBOROUGH, or Aukborough, a parish in Glanford Brigg district, Lincoln; at the mouth of the river Trent, 5 miles S of Brough r. station, and 10½ W of Barton-upon-Humber. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Alkborough parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Alkborough Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Search the FamilySearch Catalogue Alkborough
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Alkborough Par 1 will identify available images.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 31 July 2013.