Alford, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Alford, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Alford St Wilfrid Lincolnshire
|County||Lincolnshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Spilsby|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Alford St Wilfred is an Ancient Parish; the 13th century church was restored and enlarged in 1867-1868 by Sir George Gilbert Scott. Rigsby with Ailby, Lincolnshire Genealogy was formed as a chapelry in this parish.
Alford (pronounced Olford) is a market town which had a number of non-conformist churches; Wesleyan Methodists, Reformed Methodists and Primitive Methodists, as well as Independents and Baptists. The Congragational Chapel was founded in 1795. A United Methodist chapel was built in 1850. A Wesleyan Methodist chapel for 700 people was built in 1864-1865
ALFORD (St. Wilfred), a market-town and parish, in the union of Spilsby, Wold division of the hundred of Calceworth, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 34 miles (E.) from Lincoln, and 137 (N. by E.) from London. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists, Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
This parish was in the Alford sub-district of Spilsby registration district
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Alford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Alford Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Alford Par 1 will identify available images.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Alford
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 31-34. Date accessed: 31 July 2013.