Aldworth, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Aldworth, Berkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Aldworth

Guide to Aldworth, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aldworth, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Compton
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wantage
Registration District Wantage
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newbury
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

ALDWORTH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Wantage, hundred of Compton, county of Berks, 4½ miles (E. by S.) from East Ilsley.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.org.uk.

Church records

Aldworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Aldworth Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP

1556-1837
1556-1966
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1557-1874
1556-1752, 1755-1857, 1859-1885


FS Catalog PRs
1556-1978
1556-1978
1556-1978
FS Catalog BTs
1607-1836
1607-1836
1607-1836

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use FamilySearch's England Jurisdictions (1851) parish boundary maps. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformists Churches

Primitive Methodist

Census records

Some census records are transcribed and/or are accessible at FamilySearch. To view those currently available, go to their Historical Collections page and scroll down to the "England" census database entries.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records" to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Aldworth in GENUKI


References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 31-34. Date accessed: 16 July 2012.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk