Aldington, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Kent
Kent Parishes
Aldington

Guide to Aldington, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aldington, Kent
Aldington St Martin Kent.jpg
Aldington St Martin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bircholt Franchise and Barony; Romney Marsh Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union East Ashford
Registration District East Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1640
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Parish History

ALDINGTON (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of East Ashford, partly in the liberty of Romney Marsh, but chiefly in the franchise and barony of Bircholt, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 5½ miles (W. by N.) from Hythe. [1]

Aldington is a village and civil parish in the Ashford district of Kent, see Aldington Kent Wikipedia. The Aldington gang were local smugglers in Napoleonic time for further history see Aldington Wikipedia

Aldington St Martin is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Canterbury; Smeeth, Kent was formed as a chapelry from this parish. A map of the parish boundary is available at a church near you

The church of St Martin dates from the 12th century and the 16th century tower became a landmark for seamen. The church of St Martin Church Lane Aldington has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 314-327 at British History Online  and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See East Ashford Registration District Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Aldington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Aldington Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax

Images for Aldington are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Images for Aldington, Hurst, Newington and West Hythe are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.





Poor Law Unions

East Ashford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 31-34. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk