Alderwasley, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Alderwasley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Margaret's Chapel - Alderwasley Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Belper|
|Parish registers: 1936; For more records see Wirksworth|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Alderwasley was a chapelry in Wirksworth, Derbyshire Ancient Parish..
The early chapelry at Chapel Hill dates from the early 16th century and now serves as the village hall. The chapel of St Margaret has been designated as a grade II listed building by English Heritage British listed building
The church of All Saints was built in 1849-1850 at Higg Lane and has been designated a grade II listed building by English Heritage British listed building
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Alderwasley Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =England, Derbyshire, Church of England Parish Registers, 1537-1918|
|Alderwasley All Saints Chapelry (1936) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Derbyshire Record Office hold deposited parish registers for Alderwasley All Saints Marriages 1936-1979 and Burials 1861-1937 which have not been microfilmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Alderwasley on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 26-31. Accessed: 28 Jan 2013