To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Alderney, Channel Islands Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Channel Islands Wiki Topics
Channel Islands in its region.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
By Island
Channel Islands Background
Local Research Resources

History[edit | edit source]

History of Alderney

Census[edit | edit source]

A census is a statistical count and description of the population of a country taken for the purpose of accurate government representation, tax collection, and military purposes. Census records are a valuable source of genealogical information for the Guernsey because they list names, relationships, ages, places of birth, and marital statuses.

Because of the island of Alderney is closely linked to the island of Guernsey, see Guernsey Census to learn more about the information censuses contain and how to access them.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Priaulx Library has copies of all parish registers for baptisms, marriages, and burials on microfilm. For a listing of what parish records are available on microfilm at the Library, see Guernsey Parish Chapel and Cemetery Records. The Library can be hired to look up a record or do professional research.

For information about when parish registers began for each parish and church in Alderney, see www.keithspages.com.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Alderney civil registration did not become compulsory until 1924. The Priaulx Library has birth records 1850-1885 and 1962-1997 and death records 1925-1968. See www.priauxlibrary.co.uk to learn more.