Alcona County, Michigan Genealogy
Guide to Alcona County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records
|Alcona County, Michigan|
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
|Founded||April 1, 1840|
|Address|| Alcona County Courthouse|
166 5th St.
Harrisville, MI 48740
Phone: (989) 724-9470
Fax: (989) 724-9419
Alcona County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Emigration and Immigration
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Obituaries
- 5.12 Probate
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County has Harrisville as its seat and the County was created 1840. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.
Alcona County, Michigan Record Dates
1840--Alcona County was created 1 April 1840 from Mackinac County and unorganized territory. It was formerly Neewago County, until the name was changed to Alcona County 8 March 1843. It was attached to Mackinac, Cheybogan, Iosco, and Alpena Counties prior to organization 12 March 1869. County seat: Harrisville 
For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- City: Harrisville
- Village: Lincoln
- Townships: Alcona . Caledonia . Curtis . Greenbush . Gustin . Harrisville . Hawes . Haynes . Mikado . Millen . Mitchell
- Communities: Alcona . Alvin . Backus Beach . Barton City . Black River . Curran . Curtsville . Glennie . Greenbush . Hubbard Lake . Killmaster . Larson Beach . Lost Lake Woods . Mikado . Springport . Spruce
Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.|
- Mount Joy Cemetery Alcona County Genealogical Society Free membership with registration.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Alcona County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.
Civil War service men from Alcona County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Alcona County.
- County newspaper articles Alcona County Genealogical SocietyFree membership with registration.
Finding More Michigan Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Alcona County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Alcona and search for Probate records in the list.
- Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1980 Michigan Wills and Probate Records 1784-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1797 – 1973 Michigan Probate Records 1797-1973 at FamilySearch — images
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:
- Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.
- Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.
See also How to order Michigan Vital Records
- Birth Records Table Alcona County Genealogical Society Free membership with registration.
- 1867-1917 - Michigan, County Births, 1867-1917 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1867-1902 - Michigan Births, 1867-1902-- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- 1585-1945 - Michigan, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- Marriage Records Table Alcona County Genealogical Society Free membership with registration.
- 1820-1937 - Michigan, County Marriages Index, 1820-1937 at FamilySearch — index
- 1820-1940 - Michigan, County Marriages, 1820-1940 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1868-1925 - Michigan Marriages, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Death Records Table Alcona County Genealogical Society Free membership with registration.
- 1850-1880 - Michigan Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1867-1897 - Michigan Deaths, 1867-1897 --Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
Societies and Libraries
Alcona County Historical Society
4028 Black River Rd.
Black River 48721
- List of Michigan Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- Alcona County Genealogical Society Free membership with registration. 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910 transcribed individualized census returns. Transcribed birth, death, & marriage Records Tables, Transcribed county newspaper articles, transcribed records from Mount Joy Cemetary. Discussion forum. Lists of members searching specific surnames.
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Alcona County, MI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- The Alcona County MIGenWeb Project, an member of The MIGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Alcona County Genealogical SocietyFree membership with registration. 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910 transcribed individualized census returns. Transcribed birth, death, & marriage Records Tables, Transcribed county newspaper articles, transcribed records from Mount Joy Cemetary. Discussion forum. Lists of members searching specific surnames.
- Alcona County MI Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Alcona County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alcona_County,_Michigan."
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alcona County, Michigan page 343, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).