Albacete, Spain Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Spain Wiki Topics
Spanish flag.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Country Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Spain
Castilla-La Mancha
Albacete Province
SP Locator Map Spain Albacete.png

Guide to Albacete province ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Most of your genealogical research for Albacete will be in two main record types: civil registration and church records. This article will teach you methods for locating and searching these two record groups.

History

The first few confirmations of Albacete's existence are found during the Moorish domination of the area. Albacete's earliest documentation is from 1269 when it was only a small Moorish village. At that time it was dependent on the borough of Chinchilla. Its name is derived from the Arabic البسيط Al-Basīṭ, "El Llano" ("the plain") referring to the planiform nature of the geography of the area. It was taken by Christian troops in 1241 and was under the dominion of Alarcon. In the first parts of the 14th century, the village began to develop and its population to increase. In 1375 it was considered a borough and became independent of Chinchilla. During the Revolt of the Comuneros in 1520–1522, Charles V granted the feudal estate of the town to his wife in 1526.

Albacete is located in a strategic position between Madrid and the east coast of Spain, and its agricultural wealth led to the growth of the borough during the next few centuries. The arrival of the railway in 1855 was a catalyst for the growth of the city. The railway reached Albacete. Later, Albacete was also connected by rail to Cartagena. Albacete was granted the title of town in 1862 by Isabell II.

Throughout the 19th century, the population of the town doubled from the 10,000 inhabitants at the beginning of the century to around 21,000 by the beginning of the 20th century. During the long period of the Restoration 1875–1923, symptoms of caciquismo (or "boss politics," a system of dominance by a local party leader) invaded the political and social life of Albacete. In 1833, the province of Albacete was created with territories from the former territories of Cuenca, Murcia, and La Mancha. Albacete was accorded the rank of capital. Between 1900 and the end of the Spanish Civil War in 1939, the population tripled. During the Spanish Civil War 1935–1939, the town fell back into the hands of Madrid. In the time of the transition to democracy, the two most significant events were the establishment in Albacete in 1982 of the High Court of Justice of Castilla-La Mancha, Casa de Quevedo, and the consolidation of the University, in 1985.

The population of Albacete is roughly 402,837 people.[1]

Civil Registration

  • Spanish civil registration records (government birth certificates, marriage certificates, and death certificates) began in 1871.
  • Births, marriages, and deaths were recorded by the local Juzgado de la Paz, or Oficinia del Registro Civil. The records are still housed in their local municpal archives. In addition, Spain does have a national index or central repository for civil registration.
  • Some municipios (towns/cities) may have civil registration records beginning as early as 1837. Some of them have been microfilmed and/or digitized by FamilySearch.
  • Larger cities may have multiple civil registration districts, and smaller towns may have their own civil registration office, or belong to an office of a nearby town. To determine the political jurisdiction for the town where your ancestors came from, please see the Spain Gazetteers article.


Here are several different approaches to obtaining these certificates:

1. Online Digitized Civil Registration

Currently, there are no online FamilySearch Historical civil registration records for this area. However, some individual cities have been digitized and are listed with microfilms in the next step. You should check back from time to time to see if others have become available.

2. Microfilm Copies of Civil Registration Records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Icon-warning.png

There might be microfilmed records available but not included in the online collections. In addition, the catalog shows a few digitized city records not mentioned in FamilySearch Historical online collections. Held in the collection of the Family History Library, these microfilms may be viewed at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:

a. Click on this link to see a list of records for Spain, Albacete.
b. Click on "Places within Spain, Albacete" and a list of towns and cities will open.
c. Click on the town or city you wish to search.
d. Click on the "Civil Registration" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
e. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor.
f. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

3. Ordering Certificates From the Ministerio de Justica

  • Researchers can solicit the Ministerio de Justicia online for copies of certificates.
  • For detailed information on how to order these records online, please see the article Order Spain Vital Records Online. It will take you through the process step by step, and includes translation of terms you will find in that process.

4. Writing to the Civil Registry of a Municipality

  • Juzgado de la Paz or Oficina del Registro Civil should be contacted if a certificate copy request to the Ministerio de Justicia fails.
  • Use the following address, filling in the parentheses with the specific information for your town :
Oficina del Registro Civil
(Street address: This link will give you addresses for all the civil registries in Albacete.)
(postal code) (City)
Albacete, Spain
  • Full name and the sex of the person sought.
  • Names of the parents, if known.
  • Approximate date and place of the event.
  • Your relationship to the person.
  • Reason for the request (family history, medical, etc.).
  • Request for a photocopy of the complete original record.
  • Check or cash for the search fee (usually about $10.00).

Write your request in Spanish whenever possible. For writing your letter in Spanish, use the translated questions and phrases in this Spanish Letter-writing Guide.

Catholic Church Records

  • Catholicism's roots extend deep into Spain's history. Parish and diocesan records created by the Catholic Church in Spain have long been considered some of the richest genealogical records in the world. Ever since the Council of Trent, Catholic parish records have been consistently recorded, usually providing three generations in a single baptismal entry.
  • The vast majority of Spaniards are Catholic, and so almost every Spaniard can be found in the records of the Catholic Church. The Catholic Church was the primary record keeper of births, marriages, and deaths, until civil registration started in 1869.
  • Some church records have been lost or have deteriorated due natural disasters such as fire, flood, and earthquakes. Civil and political strife has also caused record loss, including during time of the Spanish Civil War.
  • The Catholic Church has created several different records. The most used in genealogical research include: baptisms (bautizos, bautismos), marriages (matrimonios), and burials (entierros, defunciones, fallecimientos). Other records include: confirmations (confimaciones) and pre-marriage investigations (expedientes matrimoniales, información matrimonial).
  • Tip: If you are researching after 1869, when Civil Registration started in Spain, both church and civil records should be searched since there may be information in one record that does not appear in the other.

1. Online Church Records

The following records are available online from FamilySearch Historical Records:

2. Microfilmed Records From the Family History Library

Icon-warning.png

There might be microfilmed records available but not included in the online collections. Currently, they are being digitized, and plans are to complete that project by 2020. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you. To find a microfilm:

a. Click on this link to see a list of records for Spain, Albacete.
b. Click on "Places within Spain, Albacete" and a list of towns and cities will open.
c. Click on the town or city you wish to search.
d. Click on "Church Records" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
e. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor.
f. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

3. Writing to a Catholic Priest for Church Records

Baptism, marriage, and death records may be searched by contacting or visiting local parish or diocese archives in Spain. Write your request in Spanish whenever possible. This method is not always reliable. Officials might or might not respond.

Write a brief request in Spanish to the proper church using this address as guide, replacing the information in parentheses:

Reverendo Padre
Parroquia de (name of parish)
(street address) Search The Church in Spain by province (Selecciona la provincia) or parish (Nombre de la parroquia).
(postal code), (city), Albacete
Spain


When requesting information, send the following:

  • Money for the search fee, usually $10.00
  • Full name and the sex of the ancestor sought
  • Names of the ancestor’s parents, if known
  • Approximate date and place of the event
  • Your relationship to the ancestor
  • Reason for the request (family history, medical, and so on)
  • Request for a photocopy of the complete original record


Write your request in Spanish whenever possible. For writing your letter in Spanish, use the translated questions and phrases in this Spanish Letter-writing Guide.]

Reading the Records

  • You do not have to be fluent in Spanish to read your documents. Genealogical records usually contain a limited vocabulary. Use this Spanish Genealogical Word List to translate the important points in the document. Reading handwriting skills are taught in the BYU Spanish Script Tutorial.
  • Online interactive slideshow lessons are available to help you learn to read these records:




Tips for finding your ancestor in the records

Effective use of church records includes the following strategies.

  • Search for the birth record of the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth record, search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
  • Then, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
  • You can estimate the ages of the parents and determine a birth year to search for their birth records.
  • Search the death registers for all family members.
  • Then repeat the process for both the father and the mother.
  • If earlier generations are not in the record, search neighboring parishes.



References

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Albacete," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albacete. Visited 25 September 2017.