To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Alaska Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alaska Wiki Topics
Alaska flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Alaska Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources


Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Alaska indexes and images[edit | edit source]

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Alaska 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link


Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1907 Territorial indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc. Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules[edit | edit source]

Microfilm images[edit | edit source]

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 and Soundex
1930 1900 and Soundex
1920 and Soundex


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624 
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1031
1920 T625 and Soundex M1597

Indexes: fiche, film, or book[edit | edit source]

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Alaska, click here

 

Federal non-population schedules[edit | edit source]

Online indexes and images[edit | edit source]

Microfilm images[edit | edit source]

Federal Non-Population Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives

  • 1929 Agriculture
Farms and Ranges
Livestock not on Farms and Rangers

Indexes: fiche, film, or book[edit | edit source]

1890 Veterans. A census of Union veterans on naval vessels in Alaskan waters.

State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]

Alaska took censuses in the years between the federal censuses, the dates listed in the chart. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

For a list of available Alaska Territory censuses, click here.

Existing and lost censuses[edit | edit source]

For a list of available and missing Alaska censuses, click here.

Why use a census?[edit | edit source]

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses[edit | edit source]

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes[edit | edit source]

  1. FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.