To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Alamance County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Alamance County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Graham
Organized: January 29, 1849
Parent County(s): Orange[1]
Neighboring Counties
Caswell  • Chatham  • Guilford  • Orange  • Randolph  • Rockingham
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaAlamanceCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-alamance.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Alamance County is located in the north-central portion of North Carolina and is called after the creek by the same name, Alamance - a Native American word describing the blue-colored mud found in the creekbed.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Alamance County Courthouse
212 West Elm Street
Graham, NC 27253
Phone: 336-570-5200
Alamance County Website

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate records from 1832, and court records from 1849.
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records.[3]

For more information about the history of the Alamance County Courthouse, visit the Wikipedia page

Alamance County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1853 1913 1849 1793 1849 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1849 Alamance County was created 29 January 1849 from Orange County.
  • County seat: Graham[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Alamance County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Alamance County was named after Great Alamance Creek, site of the Battle of Alamance (May 16, 1771). This pre-Revolutionary War battle in which militia under the command of Governor William Tryon crushed the Regulator movement, a movement by the poor citizens of the back country who were tired of corrupt government and wanted to regulate themselves. The Great Alamance Creek, and in turn the Little Alamance Creek, according to legend, were named after a local Native American word to describe the blue mud that was found at the bottom of the creeks. Other legends say that the name came from another local Native American word meaning "noisy river" or for the Alamanni region of Rhineland, Germany, where many of the early settlers would have come from. Before being formed as a county, the region had at least one known small Southeastern tribe of Native American in the 18th century - the Sissipahaw who lived in the area bound by modern Saxapahaw, the area known as the Hawfields, and Haw River in the county European settlers entered the region in the late 17th century chiefly following Native American trading paths, and set up their farms what they called the "Haw Old Fields", fertile ground previously tilled by the Sissipahaw. The paths later became the basis of the railroad and interstate highway routes. (from Wikipedia)

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Alamance County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Presbyterian

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Transcribed court records (USGenWeb Archives):

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Transcribed land records: (NCGenWeb) and (USGenWeb Archives)


  • Alamance County Register of Deeds
    118 West Harden Street
    PO Box 837
    Graham, NC 27253
    Phone: 336-570-6565
    Website
    Has copies of land records dating from 1793; contact for details. You may also check for deed records at Alamance County Deeds Records Search

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Alamance County

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Alamance County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Alamance County:

- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 13th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry formerly the 3rd Volunteers., Company E
- 15th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 5th Volunteers, Company H
- 4th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company B
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company K
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain George F Fisher's Company
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company A
- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • Alamance Gleaner. Full text digital issues in Google News Archive; includes 1881-1910
  • Alamance County residents in the newspaper. Name listing of people from the county as located in misc. newspaper articles; time span varies. Articles indexed in the NC People in the Papers database.
  • Mebane Gleaner (1911-1914). Full-text digital issues (NC Digital Heritage Center)

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

County Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Transcribed wills or estate records: (NCGenWeb) and (USGenWeb Archives)


  • Alamance County Clerk of Court
    Website
    Has copies of probate records from 1832, including wills, estate records, and records associated with the administration of an estate.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Yearbooks

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Alamance County Genealogical Society
    PO Box 3052
    Burlington, NC 27215-3052
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.alamance-nc.com/about-alamance-county/history/new-nation-new-county/
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alamance County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. "Hawfields Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  7. "Hawfields Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.