Aguacatán, Huehuetenango, Guatemala Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Guatemala
Huehuetenango Department
Municipality of Aguacatán

Guide to Municipality of Aguacatán ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

History

  • After the independence of Central America in 1821, Aguacatán was part of the circuit of Huehuetenango in the district of Totonicapán.
  • Then, in 1838, he was part of the state of Los Altos.
  • General Rafael Carrera crushed the attempt of secession, and in 1840 he reinstated the State of Los Altos to the State of Guatemala.
  • The municipality of Aguacatán has a population of approximately 52,000 people[1]

Civil Registration

Catalog English.jpg

Parish Records

Census Records

Cemeteries

  • Cementerio General del Municipio Aguacatán
  • Cementerio Aldea Las Pilas


Localities

  • Agua Blanca
  • Agua Blanca I
  • Agua Blanca II
  • Buena Vista
  • Calin
  • Chex Abajo
  • Chichuj
  • Chuikankab
  • Cuesta Chiquita
  • El Barranca
  • El Cancho
  • El Cipresal
  • El Limonar
  • El Rosario
  • El Salvador
  • El Tichón
  • Irchimal
  • Ixcoloy
  • La Esperancita
  • La Labor
  • La Laguna I
  • La Laguna II
  • Las Pilas
  • Llano Chiquito
  • Los Cipresales
  • Petzal
  • Potrerillo
  • Pueblo Viejo
  • Quilén Novillo
  • Quilintoro
  • Río Blanco
  • Río Blanco Chiquito
  • Río Negro
  • Río Seco
  • Seco
  • Tichón
  • Tierra Blanca
  • Tres Cruces
  • Tucuná
  • Xetnúm
  • Xilamatón
  • Xolpic

References

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Aguacatán," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aguacat%C3%A1n. Visited 26 July 2017.