Afghanistan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Afghanistan)
Jump to: navigation, search
Afghanistan Wiki Topics
Flag of Afghanistan.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Afghanistan Background
Local Research Resources
Asia
Afghanistan

Guide to Afghanistan ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Background

Afghanistan (/æfˈɡænɪstæn, æfˈɡɑːnɪstɑːn/ (About this sound listen); Pashto/Dari: افغانستان‬, Pashto: Afġānistān [avɣɒnisˈtɒn, ab-],[10] Dari: Afġānestān [avɣɒnesˈtɒn]), officially the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, is a landlocked country located within South Asia.
Afghanistan is bordered by Pakistan in the south and east; Iran in the west; Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan in the north; and in the far northeast, China. Its territory covers 652,000 square kilometers or 252,000 sq miles and much of it is covered by the Hindu Kush mountain range, which experience very cold winters.
The north consists of fertile plains, whilst the south-west consists of deserts where temperatures can get very hot in summers. Kabul serves as the capital and its largest city.


Getting Started

Getting Started with Afghanistan Research

Links to articles on getting started with Afghanistan research.

Afghanistan Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Afghanistan research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Afghanistan Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Afghanistan. Afghanistan Regional Commands with Provinces.png

Provinces

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Afghanistan. Afghanistan is administratively divided into thirty-four (34) provinces (welayats):

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References