Adlington, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cheshire
Cheshire Parishes
Adlington

Guide to Adlington, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Adlington, Cheshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Prestbury
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History

ADLINGTON, is a township, in the parish of Prestbury, union and hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester, it is 5 miles (N. by W.) from Macclesfield.[1]

Adlington was one of the 35 pre-Norman townships in the ancient parish of Prestbury and remained part of the parish of Prestbury and the records of Prestbury St Peter contain Adlington residents.

It is known as Eduluintune in the Domesday Book. 

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records

Adlington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Adlington Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Adlington, Methodist Chapel (New Connexion, later United Methodist). Built in 1870, closed in 1957.

Registers of marriages, 1941–54, are at the Record Office.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Macclesfield (1837–98)
  •  Cheshire East (1998+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Macclesfield

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Websites

Adlington at Genuki

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-17. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography