Adams County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Adams County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Adams County

Guide to Adams County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
This article is about a central Wisconsin county. For other uses, see Adams.

{{{link}}}

Adams County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 11, 1848
County Seat Friendship
Courthouse
Address Adams County Courthouse
400 Main Street
Friendship WI 53934
Phone (608) 339-4200
Adams County Website
WI Adams.png


County Information

Adams County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1857 1854 1850 1853 1853

Historical Facts

1848--Adams County was created 11 March 1848 from Portage County.  [1]

Populated Places

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Neighboring Counties

Columbia  • Juneau  • Marquette  • Portage  • Sauk  • Waushara  • Wood

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WIGenWeb Archives
WITombstone Project
Interment
WIGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

State Census
  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Adams County, Wisconsin Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Wisconsin Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

WI ADAMS.JPG

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Adams County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Adams County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company A
- 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company E


World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Wisconsin Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Wisconsin Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Adams County, Wisconsin Genealogy Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Adams County, Wisconsin Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse
Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies

Adams County Historical Society and Historic McGowan House / Archives
PO Box 264
507 Main Street
Friendship, WI, 53934
Telephone: 608-339-7732
Website

Hales Corners Historical Society
5885 South 116th Street
Hales Corners, Wisconsin 53130
Telephone: 414-529-6150 ext. 24
E-mail:nkochis9379@sbcglobal.net
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

School Records

Taxation

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state. See also How to order Wisconsin Vital Records or order electronically online.

For additional information on how to acquire the records, see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Vital Records.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1860, marriage records from 1859, death records from 1873 and land records from 1853; Clerk Court has divorce and court records; Registrar in Probate has probate records. [2]

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voter Registration

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Adams County, Wisconsin, p.755