Adams County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Adams County
 

Guide to Adams County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hastings
Organized: February 16, 1867
Parent County(s): unorganized territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
Buffalo  • Clay  • Franklin  • Hall  • Hamilton  • Kearney  • Nuckolls  • Webster
See County Maps
Courthouse
Adams County Courthouse (Nebraska) from S.JPG
Location Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Adams County.svg.png
Adoption


County Information

Description

Adams County was part of the Louisiana territory and therefore ruled by both the French and the Spanish in its early history. After the Louisiana Purchase and the formation of the State of Nebraska in 1867, Adams County was formed on February 16, 1867, but not fully organized until 1871.[2] By 1871, the westward migration brought families from the eastern seaboard of the United States to the open prairies of Nebraska and Adams County. In the 1870s two railroads came to Adams county and with them came many immigrants from Great Britain and Ireland eager to homestead the prairie land. It is named for John Adams, the second President of the United States.[3]

County Courthouse

Adams County Courthouse
500 W. 4th Street
Hastings, NE 68901
Phone: 402-461-7153
Adams County Website

County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce and land records. [1]

Adams County, Nebraska Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1871 1871 1871 1870

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Adams County, Nebraska:[5]

City

  • Hastings

Villages

  • Ayr
  • Holstein
  • Juniata
  • Kenesaw
  • Prosser
  • Roseland
  • Trumbull

Unincorporated communities

  • Assumption
  • Hansen
  • Hayland
  • Ingleside
  • Pauline

Townships

  • Ayr
  • Blaine
  • Cottonwood
  • Denver
  • Hanover
  • Highland
  • Juniata
  • Kenesaw
  • Little Blue
  • Logan
  • Roseland
  • Silver Lake
  • Verona
  • Wanda
  • West Blue
  • Zero

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Adams County, Nebraska online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 19
1880 10,235 53768.4%
1890 24,303 137.4%
1900 18,840 −22.5%
1910 20,900 10.9%
1920 22,621 8.2%
1930 26,275 16.2%
1940 24,576 −6.5%
1950 28,855 17.4%
1960 28,944 0.3%
1970 30,553 5.6%
1980 30,656 0.3%
1990 29,625 −3.4%
2000 31,151 5.2%
2010 31,364 0.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Adams County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Hastings

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Adams County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

  • Biographical and historical memoirs of Adams, Clay, Hall and Hamilton counties, Nebraska. 1890. Chicago, Illinois: Goodspeed Pub. Co. Available online at:
  • Past and present of Adams County, Nebraska. Burton, William R., David J. Lewis. 1916. Chicago, Illinois: S. J. Clarke Pub. Co. Available online at:
  • HISTORY of the State of Nebraska. Cutler, William. 1882. The Western Historical Company, A. T. Andreas, Proprietor: Chicago, IL. Available online at:

Maps and Gazetteers

Neadams.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Adams County, Nebraska for European and African American settlers included:

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Adams - Probate records.

'Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • NEGenWeb
  • USGenWeb
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/adams/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.
  6. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map II" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap2.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).