To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Adams County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about a southwestern Mississippi county. For other uses, see Adams.
{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Natchez
Organized: 2 April 1799
Parent County(s): Natchez District[1]
Neighboring Counties
Concordia (LA)  • Franklin  • Jefferson  • Tensas (LA)  • Wilkinson
See County Maps
Courthouse
Mississippi AdamsCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Adams County.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

This county was named for John Adams. Adams County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Adams County Courthouse
115 S Wall St
PO Box 1008
Natchez, MS 39120
Phone: 601-446-6684
Adams County Website

Clerk Chancery Court has court, land and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage and death records.[3]

Adams County, Mississippi Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1 Nov 1912 1799 1 Nov 1912 1781 1780 1800 1810
Statewide registration started in Nov 1912 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1921.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1799 Adams County was created 2 April 1799 from the Natchez District.
  • County seat: Natchez[5]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1643-1947) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Adams County, Mississippi:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Adams County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

  • Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
  • Cemeteries and Cemetery Records Adams County MSGenWeb Project

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Adams County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Federal Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Adams County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Franklin CountyWilkinson CountyTensas ParishConcordia ParishJefferson CountyMS ADAMS.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Adams County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Adams County:

- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
Company B - Natchez Southrons [also listed as Co. C]
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Light Artillery
Company H - Connor Battery
- 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company B - Natchez Fencibles

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

  • 1776-1935 Mississippi Marriages, 1776-1935 at Ancestry$
  • 1799-1819 Adams County Marriage Book 1 Index 1799-1819. Batch M516691 at FamilySearch
  • 1800-1825 Mississippi Marriages to 1825 at Ancestry$
  • 1800-1911 Mississippi, Marriages, 1800-1911 at FamilySearch
  • 1819-1826 Adams County Marriage Books 2 thru 4 Index 1819-1826. Batch M516692 at FamilySearch
  • 1826-1835 Adams County Marriage Book 5 Index 1826-1835. Batch M516693 at FamilySearch
  • 1826-1850 Mississippi Marriages, 1826-50 at Ancestry$
  • 1826-1900 Mississippi Marriages, 1826-1900 at Ancestry$
  • 1835-1851 Adams County Marriage Book 6 Index 1835-1851. Batch M516694 at FamilySearch
  • 1851-1860 Adams County Marriage Books 7A and 7B Index 1851-1860. Batch M516695 at FamilySearch
  • 1860-1873 Adams County Marriage Books 8 and 9 Index 1860-1873. Batch M516696 at FamilySearch
  • 1866-1870 Adams County Marriage Books 18 and 19 Index 1866-1870. Batch M516698 at FamilySearch
  • 1870-1874 Adams County Marriage Books 20 and 21 Index 1870-1874. Batch M516699 at FamilySearch
  • 1873-1892 Adams County Marriage Books 10 thru 12 Index 1875-1885. Batch M516704 at FamilySearch
  • 1874-1880 Adams County Marriage Books 22 and 23 Index 1874-1880. Batch M516701 at FamilySearch
  • 1880-1885 Adams County Marriage Books 24 and 25 Index 1880-1885. Batch M516702 at FamilySearch
  • 1885 Adams County Marriage Books 26 and 27 Index 1885. Batch M516703 at FamilySearch
  • 1886-1890 Adams County Marriage Books 26 and 27 Index 1886-1890. Batch M516706 at FamilySearch
  • 1890-1893 Adams County Marriage Books 28 and 29 Index 1890-1893. Batch M516707 at FamilySearch

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • South Mississippi Genealogical & Historical Society
    P.O. Box 15271
    Hattiesburg, MS 39401
    Website
  • Southwest Mississippi Genealogy Society
    P.O. Box 175
    McComb, MS 39649
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Adams, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adams County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.