Adair County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Adair County, Kentucky)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Adair County

Guide to Adair County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Columbia
Organized: December 11, 1801
Parent County(s): Green[1]
Neighboring Counties
Casey  • Cumberland  • Green  • Metcalfe  • Russell  • Taylor
See County Maps
Courthouse
Adair County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Adair County svg.png
Adoption
Kylogosm.gif This user is a member of KYGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information

Description

The County was named for John Adair. The County has Columbia as its seat and the County was created 1801. The County is located in the south central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Adair County Courthouse
424 Public Square
Columbia, KY 42728-1451
Phone: 270.384.2801[3]
Adair County Website

Adair County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1802 1852 1802 1802 1802 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1801--Adair County was created 11 December 1801 from Green County.
  • County seat: Columbia[5]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Adair, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Adair county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18106,011
18208,76545.8%
18308,217−6.3%
18408,4663.0%
18509,89816.9%
18609,509−3.9%
187011,06516.4%
188013,07818.2%
189013,7214.9%
190014,8888.5%
191016,50310.8%
192017,2894.8%
193016,401−5.1%
194018,56613.2%
195017,603−5.2%
196014,699−16.5%
197013,037−11.3%
198015,23316.8%
199015,3600.8%
200017,24412.3%
Est. 200617,6502.4%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21001.txt
Adair Co., KYGenWeb Available Census Records ~

1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Adair County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Asbury] Holtzclaw, B.C. "Asbury of Westmoreland County, Virginia," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul. 1967):55-65; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1967):77-87; Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan. 1968):10-26. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Chapman] "A Brief History of the Chapman Family of Frederick County," Frederick Findings, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Winter 1988):42-43. FHL Book 975.59 D25f.
  • [Moss] Moss, T.C. The David Moss Family: Green, Adair, Boyle, Barren, Hart, and Warren Co., Ky.; Williamson and Maury Co., Tenn.; Mississippi. Memphis, Tenn.: T.C. Moss, 1968. FHL Book 929.273 M855mo.
  • [Royse] Pappas, Carolyn H. "Christopher Beeler, 1705-1775," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 43, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1999):243-255; Vol. 44, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2000):18-30; Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2000):115-125. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • [Smith] Coleman, C.W. "Genealogy of the Smith Family of Essex County, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jul. 1897):41-52. Digital versions at JSTOR - free; USGenWeb - free.
  • [Trabue] Harper, Lillie DuPuy VanCulin. Colonial Men and Times: Containing the Journal of Col. Daniel Trabue, Some Account of His Ancestry, Life and Travels in Virginia and the Present State of Kentucky During the Revolutionary Period; the Huguenots, Genealogy, with Brief Sketches of the Allied Families. Philadelphia, Pa.: Innes & Sons, 1916. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Film 1421709 Item 2.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Adair County Entries on the Kentucky Table of Content at Strictly By Name. To view the indexes it is free. If you want a copy of a document there is a fee.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Adair County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Green CountyTaylor CountyCasey CountyRussell CountyCumberland CountyMetcalfe CountyKY ADAIR.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Adair County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies F and G.
- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A and J.
- 3rd Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company D.
- 9th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and K.
- 13th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, K, L and M.

World War I

Korean War

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adair County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Adair County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Adair County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Adair County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Adair County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

  • KYGenWeb, Searchable databases of KY Births, Deaths & Marriages

Birth

  • 1839-1960 - KY Births & Christenings, 1839-1960 at FamilySearch
  • 1852-1861 - Adair County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch C517011 at FamilySearch - free. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at FamilySearch.org
  • 1874 - Adair County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517012 at FamilySearch - free.
  • 1875 - Adair County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517013 at FamilySearch - free.
  • KYGenWeb (includes Delayed Births and Births 1911 - 1980)

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Adair County Library
    307 Greensburg Street
    Columbia, KY 42728
    Telephone:270-384-247
    Website

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Adair County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adair_County,_Kentucky."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adair County, Kentucky page 268, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adair County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Adair County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adair_County,_Kentucky, accessed 31 July 2018.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Adair_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3424424"