To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Acton, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Acton, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Acton, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Kensington Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Brentford
Registration District Brentford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664; 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ACTON St Mary (1539), a parish, in the union of Brentford, Kensington division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 5 miles (W.) from London. Also see ;East Acton and Steyne.

The following chapelries and district churches lay within the St Mary Acton Parish boundary:

  • All Saints, Bollo Bridge Rd. - 1872
  • St Aidan Church Mission - 1888
  • St Albans, Acton Green - 1888
  • St Andrews, Salisbury St - 1894
  • St Barnabas, Acton Vale - 1891
  • St Cuthbert's, Osborne Rd - 1880
  • St Dunstan's, East Acton - 1879
  • St Thomas, Bromyard Ave, Acton – 1891

An Independent and a Wesleyan Chapel were built here, as well as a private mansion which was used as a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Acton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Acton St Mary Parish Online Records (1566)
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs None None 1566-1812
None None
FS None None 1566-1812 None None None
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs

1566-1812

FS Catalog BTs


Acton All Saints Bollo Bridge Chapel Online Records (1872)
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs None None
None None
FS None None None None None None
FMP 1543-1876




Acton St Albans Chapel Online Records (1888)
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs None None 1566-1812
None None
FS None None 1566-1812 None None None
FMP 1543-1876




Acton St Andrew Chapel Online Records (1894)
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs None None 16-182
None None
FS None None 1566-1812 None None None
FMP 1543-1876




Acton St Barnabas Online Chapel Records (1891)
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs None None 1566-1812
None None
FS None None 1566-1812 None None None
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
Acton St Dunstan Chapel Online Records (1879)
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs None None 1566-1812
None None
FS None None 1566-1812 None None None
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
Acton St Thomas Bromyard Ave. Chapel Online Records (1891)
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs None None
None None
FS None None None None None None
FMP 1543-1876




To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are currently being indexed by Ancestry.co.uk, by images created at the London Metropolitan Archives.

A List of District Churches and Chapels in Acton Parish

Here's a list of all those known churches and chapels associated and lying within the boundaries of Acton St Mary:

  • All Saints, Bollo Bridge Rd. - 1872
  • St Albans, Acton Green - 1888
  • St Andrews, Salisbury St. -1894
  • St Barnabas, Acton Vale - 1891
  • St Cuthbert's, Bollo Lane - 1880
  • St Dunstan's, East Acton - 1879
  • St Mary's, High St. – 1539 (* ancient parish)
  • St Thomas, Bromyard Ave, Acton – 1891

Census and Inhabitants Lists[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1600 Lay Subsidy[edit | edit source]
1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]
1666-1674 Hearth Taxes[edit | edit source]
  • Smith, A. Harper and T. Harper Smith. Acton: The Hearth Tax Assessments, 1664-1674. London: A. and T. Harper, 1988. FHL British Book 942.1/A1 R4s.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Manor records[edit | edit source]

Acton Manor records survive from the 1200s to the 1900s. The Manorial Documents Register serves as a guide to these records and where they are stored.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Acton on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848 Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk